Author Topic: Printers  (Read 317 times)

Offline pembquist

• Silver Member
Printers
« on: April 10, 2015, 03:53:47 PM »
My old HP 1012 monochrome laser still works fine except not with WIN7. I bought a new HP Officejet Pro 8600 all in one March 20. Threw away my old scanner and fax and after less than 100 pages it tells me "cartridges damaged or missing" this was immediately after it did some update or other. Tech support was infuriating "unplug first from the printer than from the wall" why? "I don't know I'm not an electrician." So after more than 1 hour of moronic flash card chat I rage quit. Than after the concerned emails I called back and held my temper while unpluging both ends of the cord and obediently wiping the contacts of the cartridges, despite being brand new and installed after error message, just so we could get to the end. It seemed they thought they would be doing me an emmense favor by replacing the computer "for free!" but wanted my credit card number for collateral. I demurred and this seemed surprising to the tech as "most people don't have any problem with giving us a card number, you will have two printers until you send the old one back." I didn't curse but I did say that the last thing I want is 2 of these crappy printers, said I would call back if I wanted there "Free Printer!."

Sorry for the venting, my question is does anybody have a good printer all in one recommendation. I would happily spend 500 dollars if it would be reliable and not just an Ink Sales Device. The only reason I got an inkjet is that this one claimed 2500 pages per cartridge. Ideally I would like an all in one laser monochrome with a good price per page but when I look in the printer aisle I just feel like they could all be crap regardless of the price.
Pies not kicks.

Offline FLOOB

• Gold Member
Re: Printers
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2015, 04:18:14 PM »
God this forum was so much less boring 13 years ago.