Author Topic: Wanting to build a home server  (Read 578 times)

Offline SilverZ06

• Silver Member
Wanting to build a home server
« on: September 27, 2015, 07:18:56 PM »
Hi guys. I want to build a home server to store all of my media (mainly pictures as I am an amateur photographer and have thousands upon thousands of photos on my pc). Right now I have a 4tb (2 by  2 tb drives in Raid 1 so 2tb usable ) NAS that I was trying to use but at only 2Gb it filled up quickly. I have qty3 1TB wd black drives and qty1 2TB wd black drive in my pc and my wife's pc. I'd like to build a server to house all of these drives so my pc and my wife's pc will only have a 250GB SSD for OS and programs but will access all media via the server. Where do I go to find information on building a server? I have some (but not much) linux experience so that will likely be the OS for the server but where do I learn about server chassis and requirements. Basically is there a go to site to lean what I need to do to build a home server? Since my NAS has only 2 drive bays I was going to steal the 2 2tb drives out of it as well for the server. Any help pointing me in the right direction is much appreciated. Thanks.

Offline Chalenge

• Plutonium Member
Re: Wanting to build a home server
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2015, 08:29:44 PM »
The easy one to use:

http://www.wegotserved.com/
If you like the Sick Puppy Custom Sound Pack the please consider contributing for future updates by sending a months dues to Hitech Creations for account "Chalenge." Every little bit helps.

Offline Bino

• Platinum Member
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2015, 11:23:46 AM »
Since all client machines (your two PCs) will be Windows-based, it probably makes sense to run a simple Windows file server. That will be the most familiar kind of machine to the System Admin (you) for all the usual system tasks, and it will be able to handle whatever small load you two could impose on it.