Author Topic: Designing a new Terrain for AH3 question for you experienced Terrain Builders  (Read 336 times)

Offline Mano

• Gold Member
If you make a terrain for the LWA does it necessarily have to follow the previous formats used in AH2.  I will d/l it and get started in January.
For example.......Large Fields have 4 ammo bunkers, 1 V hangar, autos are located all over the field, and so on.

What if I made a high alt field near the strats (cannot be captured) that had 8 bomber hangars, 2 fighter hangers, and three V hangars. 8 ammo bunkers, and all the autos are located along the runway?

As far as fields located near a potential furball alley: 8 fighter hangars, 1 ammo bunker, 2 bomber hangars, and all auto guns along the runway.
I would place the 37mm and Flack 88's at the ends of the runways for better visibility.

Are all the different fields (ie. Small Fields, Med. Fields, Large Fields) locked into their AH2 parameters?

Keep in mind I am new to this and I know it will be a very steep learning curve.

Your comments on terrain building are appreciated.
Everything is funny as long as it is happening to somebody else.
- Will Rogers (1879 - 1935)

Offline bustr

• Plutonium Member
If Easycore or Greebo are willing, talk to them.

You can learn the nuts and bolts of the editor tools on your own in about a week if you bang your head against it. That got me a single island for gunnery practice. I'm at a point that I realize before you lay down your first land mass, you should have long before sat down with a pad and pencil and worked out what you want all of it to look like in the end. There are many objects you will have to keep track of that a work sheet, elevations list and schematic will help. Then the oba file is your friend along with understanding elevation "y" for objects when you place them on the terrain.