Author Topic: 3D Printer  (Read 1834 times)

Offline avionix

• Silver Member
Re: 3D Printer
« Reply #15 on: December 30, 2019, 12:02:41 PM »
What is the size of the impressive T-33?

Wingspan is about 8-10". Don't have it with me at work to measure.
treekilr in game.   
"Please. This is supposed to be a happy occasion. Let's not bicker and argue over who killed who..."

Offline save

• Gold Member
« Reply #16 on: January 02, 2020, 04:26:17 PM »
A friend of mine bought a Prusa3d, he use it to replace damaged parts for cars with ABS filament.
My ammo last for 6 Lancasters, or one Yak3.
"And the Yak 3 ,aka the "flying Yamato"..."
-Caldera

Offline tmetal

• Gold Member
« Reply #17 on: January 22, 2020, 09:05:25 AM »
I've got almost 7 years experience with 3D printers from home/hobby grade printers on up to industrial grade printers.   A few suggestions or advice if you want them.

If you do get another printer I would highly recommend getting one that has a duel extrusion print head.  One extruder set up for your model material and the second extruder set up for a water soluble support material.  You can print much more delicate or smaller items without the fear of breaking them during the support removal post print process. Submerge the item in a bucket of water over night then just rinse it off in the morning; no potentially damaging manual picking away of the support structures.

PLA material works great on most models, is easier to print with, is generally cheaper, leaves a semigloss surface finish, and comes in many more colors than ABS; but because it is a plant based material it doesn't hold up to weather exposure as well as ABS does.  So if it is something that will be outside during much of its life go with ABS or if you're stuck with PLA then hit the finished print with at least a few coats of paint to help seal it up.