Author Topic: simple question  (Read 332 times)

Offline loco07

• Zinc Member
simple question
« on: June 25, 2024, 11:42:34 AM »
Can I fly in AH using an SSD external hard drive. Keep in mind that I'm a real pilot with limited knowledge about this kind of stuff. May God bless you all!!!

Offline The Fugitive

• Plutonium Member
      • Fugi's Aces Help
Re: simple question
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2024, 11:51:18 AM »
I would think there would be too much delay to an external drive. It is free to download and install the game so you could try it out an see if it works.

Offline BigR

• Silver Member
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2024, 02:03:19 PM »
Can I fly in AH using an SSD external hard drive. Keep in mind that I'm a real pilot with limited knowledge about this kind of stuff. May God bless you all!!!

on a modern computer with a modern USB/Thunderbolt connection, an external SSD should run the game just fine.

Offline AKIron

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2024, 04:13:20 PM »
Another question may be lurking therein. Can you run AH without installing it? I don't know. Some programs you can, some you can't.
Here we put salt on Margaritas, not sidewalks.

Offline AKIron

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2024, 04:29:02 PM »
I can answer the question I just posed. I copied the folder where AH was installed from a computer to a computer which has not had AH installed. I was then able to run the game normally.

Two assumptions here. One, you don't have enough space to install on a computer you want to run it which means the computer is likely old. It will run from an external drive but if it is slow don't assume it's because you are running from an external drive. Two, for whatever reason you don't want to install on a newer computer. In that case it should be fine.

To get it on an external drive you will still need to install it on a machine.
« Last Edit: June 25, 2024, 04:30:58 PM by AKIron »

Offline Bizman

• Plutonium Member