Author Topic: Hitech- Question.  (Read 190 times)

Offline Urchin

• Platinum Member
Hitech- Question.
« on: October 02, 2002, 11:18:09 AM »
Howdy, I was having this discussion with Nomde in the DA, and we couldnt really come to a satisfactory conclusion.  Forgive the length of this post in advance, because I'm just a layman and I have trouble explaining what I mean.  

Quite a few people turn their engines on and off in combat.  They'll turn their engine off to slow down real fast, to prevent or cause an overshoot.  It does seem to slow you down more than just putting the throttle in 'idle' (think full throttle, what I call 'idle' is full on the opposite side).  What I was curious to know is WHY it slows you down faster?  

I can't see any difference, from a 'drag' standpoint, between an unfeathered prop connected to an engine that is off and an unfeathered prop connected to an engine that is ON, but sitting at idle (hopefully producing no thrust).  If your prop was automatically feathered, like how it does when you take damage, that would actually REDUCE the drag on the prop, and wouldn't slow you down as much as just leaving the throttle at idle.  

There is no difference in RPMs (according to the guage at least) when you either reduce throttle or shut the engine off during flight.  So I don't see how just shutting off the engine would slow you down faster than chopping the throttle to idle.  Can you explain to me how it works?  

Also, Nomde brought up an interesting point towards the end of our discussion.  He said there may be ONE way turning the engine off would increase drag.  He said it might disconnect the transmission from the prop, allowing the wind to turn it.  Theorically, the wind could turn it faster than the engine was, leading to more RPMs and greater drag.  The RPM needle doesn't go up or down when you turn the engine off.  Is this the way it is modelled in AH, except the RPM guage doesn't move?

Offline Dago

• Parolee
  • Platinum Member