Author Topic: BnZ in P-47 D30  (Read 483 times)

Offline najdorf

• Copper Member
BnZ in P-47 D30
« on: January 28, 2003, 02:21:34 PM »
I am pretty new to the game.  Used to play a lot of AW, RR however!

I have been trying to learn in the above described plane.  I have noticed that when I go tearing into a furball at 400 plus, I cant really get off a good shot.  When I slow down to about 300, I die from an LA7, P51, etc.

My technique so far has been to dive in about 4k out and level off and then pick a target.  When I get to about 700 yds out, they of course do some kind of violent jink.  I find myself unable to correct at high speed to get off an accurate shot.  But, if zoom out to about a 2k and loop up to kill some speed and return at around 300, I get jumped and die.

One note, my frame rate is under 10 when I get to furball, usually 4-7, I suppose this may have something to do with it.  Have old system right now, getting a new one.  But have to deal with antiquated 4mb video card, 64mb ram and 333mhz processor till I get the new one in a week or so.

When you do this kind of attack, is it normal to have to make several high speed passes to get one that ends up working, am I just doing it wrong?

Offline J_A_B

• Gold Member
BnZ in P-47 D30
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2003, 03:54:35 PM »
Treat the AH P-46D-30 like you would have flown the AirWarrior FW-190A-8.    Set your attack path up so you won't get jumped on the egress.      

If you find you need a bit more speed, the F4U-1D has most of the positive attributes of the P-47 and is a fair amount faster at normal arena altitudes.

J_A_B

Offline JB73

• Plutonium Member
BnZ in P-47 D30
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2003, 11:21:11 AM »
also a new PC will do wonders. learn the view system with your hat on your Joystick. SA is super important to survive a furball.

oh well my 2¢
I don't know what to put here yet.

Offline BNM

• Nickel Member
      • http://www.christian3x3.com/
BnZ in P-47 D30