Author Topic: Where is the gun recoil?  (Read 300 times)

Offline RAM

• Parolee
  • Zinc Member
Where is the gun recoil?
« Reply #15 on: October 30, 2000, 04:16:00 PM »
THE Torque!

not torque!  

(good one lol  )

Offline Pongo

• Platinum Member
Where is the gun recoil?
« Reply #16 on: October 30, 2000, 05:56:00 PM »
Most of the time you dont notice it. But sometimes with nose high and just about stalling you can really see the effect of a long burst.

-towd_

Where is the gun recoil?
« Reply #17 on: October 30, 2000, 06:59:00 PM »
i have a reference to the c hog in a book where the main point the guy mentioned about the plane was its incredible effect on the plane . i.e. it would loose air speed in a dive even !! now im not a engineer but the c hog recoil is almost unnoticable . now funk tested it and he thinks it was right. ( no math shown id like to see it)

so in my lay mans oppinion the hog c's  recoil from 4 fast firing 20 mm cannon is almost nonconcequentual but pilots notes point it out as excessive ( in the real world )    

so i think its probly modeled wrong!!!
sheesh its simple :but ill get abuse for saying so

wulf_pilot

Where is the gun recoil?
« Reply #18 on: October 31, 2000, 08:32:00 PM »
Torque is there.
since im in aviation class and we did a whole chapter on just torque i think i know what im talking about
any other REAL pilots here.
massive torque occurs at high angles of attack, high rpm, and low airspeed.
its there.
also i dont know if they model it but wingtip vortices are created at high angles of attack and low speed ie-taking off.  Try taking off in a spit or 109 rihght behind a b-17 and you'll get tossed, this is in real life i dont know about in game.

Offline Midnight

• Silver Member
      • http://www.brauncomustangs.org
Where is the gun recoil?
« Reply #19 on: October 31, 2000, 09:56:00 PM »