Author Topic: AGP Video Card recommendation needed...I know, I know...get a new PC.....  (Read 534 times)

Offline 230G

• Copper Member
  O.K. here's the deal. I have an older SysteMax PC with these components:

Mini-Tower mATX Chassis w/350W PS P4M266 Motherboard   
    Intel Pentium 4 Processor 2.8 GHz 533FSB w/ 512K Cache   
   1024MB DDR333 PC2700 Non-ECC Memory (512MB x 2)   
   40GB Ultra ATA (5400rpm) Hard Drive   
   GeForce FX5600-8X 128MB Video Card with TV Out  (AGP)
   300W Power supply

I've been using this PC for nigh on 4 years with no problems, and that includes no problems with AHII and Call of Duty 2. But my video began acting up, then finally the card crappped out. No big deal at the moment as I just switched to on-board video.
  I do not want to replace my PC as it works fine for what I do. So, can anyone recommend a decent, low priced AGP card? If possible, I'd like to keep using my current power supply, but would upgrade if necessary.
  I'm not a PC guru, but I understand that with some systems, the processor will be a bottleneck to a top vidoe card.

Thanks for the help!
     230G
If you approach from me from my 12:00 you will be unapologetically HO'ed.

Offline HomeBoy

• Nickel Member
      • HomeBoy's Inventions
Re: AGP Video Card recommendation needed...I know, I know...get a new PC.....
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2008, 09:35:11 PM »
Hi 23,
I just put together a cheap game machine for a guy at work using some old scrap parts.  I used this vc on it:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814141075

Pretty decent for $50 and I'm getting good reports from his son who was very concerned about FR, etc.
The Hay Street Boys

Offline Anodizer

• Silver Member
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2008, 10:38:40 PM »
Hi 23,
I just put together a cheap game machine for a guy at work using some old scrap parts.  I used this vc on it:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814141075