Author Topic: Understanding range with icons...  (Read 1011 times)

Offline wetcat

• Zinc Member
Understanding range with icons...
« on: January 04, 2016, 03:48:51 PM »
My gunnery needs work and it occurred to me that I might not be understanding the range that appears with the target's icon.

Suppose the target's range says '600', then as I approach it changes to '400'. I *think* that means at that instant the target is between 600 and 400, is that right? The number displayed is the closest it could be, the actual range is somewhere between the displayed range and the next highest increment (usually 200 yards).

Thanks for any help!
Menacing Ferrets Fighter Squadron

Offline bustr

• Plutonium Member
Re: Understanding range with icons...
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2016, 04:25:37 PM »
For many players 400 is a tough range to hit another fighter while maneuvering or even in a 6 chase. 400-800 with a 51D, 47, Dora, as a diving pick or "HO and run" is an art form that can be self taught pretty quickly. You will have to enjoy the bad names others assign to you once you master it.

If it is 400 while maneuvering, learn to hold until 200 and realize, your maneuvering will have you at 200 but, the G forces in your turns will work against what you perceive as easy shots. Morfiend and FLS can improve your ACM to consistently make 200 your gunnery range.

Your assessment to what the range icon is showing you is spot on.
bustr - POTW 1st Wing

This is like the old joke that voters are harsher to their beer brewer if he has an outage, than their politicians after raising their taxes. Death and taxes are certain but, fun and sex is only now.

Offline The Fugitive

• Plutonium Member
      • Fugi's Aces Help
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2016, 04:57:59 PM »
When it changes from 600 to 400 they are around 500 out, when it changes from 200 to 400 they are 300 out. So each range marker is 100 plus or minus depending on if your closing or pulling away.