Author Topic: Have you ever had to dumb down how you talk/explain things  (Read 1545 times)

Offline shppr01

• AvA Staff Member
  • Gold Member
Re: Have you ever had to dumb down how you talk/explain things
« Reply #15 on: October 18, 2018, 02:02:05 PM »
As an old retired chef, I have had to dumb down instructions all the time . It's not due to me being smarter or the other guy being dumb, it's just the nature of the job.
 Tc,
 Telling your daughter to simplify things is part of life itself . 
Do not fret the small stuff!!
Ingame : Shipper

Never put your gun down to hug a grizzly.

Offline Bizman

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #16 on: October 18, 2018, 02:59:11 PM »
Telling your daughter to simplify things is part of life itself . 

No one is as smart as a fresh graduate, they're the wisest of all mankind. They know everything, their opinions are based on absolute truth...  :lol
Then they grow dumber just as we have done.  :old:
Quote from: BaldEagl, applies to myself, too
I've got an older system by today's standards that still runs the game well by my standards.

Kotisivuni

Offline icepac

• Platinum Member
« Reply #17 on: October 18, 2018, 08:46:42 PM »

Sometimes you have to slaughter the english language for the sake of clarity.

That said, romance based languages work better than others and certainly work best with science since most science was written by romance langauage writers.

Offline TequilaChaser

• AH Training Corps - Retired
  • Plutonium Member
      • The Damned - founded by Ptero in 1988
« Reply #18 on: October 19, 2018, 08:07:53 AM »
Sometimes you have to slaughter the english language for the sake of clarity.

That said, romance based languages work better than others and certainly work best with science since most science was written by romance langauage writers.

I can totally relate to the your synopsis, even though I can still slaughter the English language especially when I talk in my native/local dialect, heh