Author Topic: Kerry and pizza  (Read 553 times)

Offline X2Lee

• Silver Member
Kerry and pizza
« on: August 18, 2004, 09:26:12 PM »
checked snopes(unconfirmed) sounds about like i would expect from the man tho...

OBSERVATIONS BY AN AIR FORCE PILOT

I'm confident that in approximately 15 minutes this article will be in the inboxes of every resident of the free world and maybe even a few people in France.
                                                                     Chris Thomas, Air Force Pilot:

I would like to add my two cents about my John Kerry experience.  During my career as an Air Force pilot, I spent two years flying a small twin engine prop plane around the Pacific from my base in Okinawa, Japan.  On one trip we had to fly Senator Kerry, his congressional aide, and a Navy Captain (Vietnam, A-4 fighter pilot) who was also in Kerry's party to various locations
in Vietnam and Cambodia as part of the MIA/POW talks.

When I met him, he was wearing a shirt with a picture of his sailboat on it.  I told him I had a 27' sailboat in Okinawa, he remarked "Oh I never sail on anything less than 135 feet."

Thanks, Senator, "I feel even better about the meager salary I get paid for flying you around the Pacific."

When we first flew him into Phnom Penh, he went to the back of the airplane and grabbed the pizza that was put aside for the crew and passed it around to his staff.  He was never offered any pizza because they were supposed to have lunch with the Cambodian government when we landed.  The pizza was the crew's only meal for that day and he ate it.

Then when we picked him up in Cambodia, he was an hour late getting to the airport. Because fuel was an issue, we could not start the engines and therefore the air conditioning until he arrived.  Phnom Penh at that time was over 100 degrees with 95% humidity and we were basically sitting in a greenhouse behind the cockpit windows.