Author Topic: attacking ground targets  (Read 2237 times)

Offline keyapaha

• Nickel Member
attacking ground targets
« on: September 21, 2001, 01:56:00 PM »
I am new at flying would like some help or ideas on attacking ground targets (air fields cities industries ect)in practicing offline I have tried several ways to attack and lucky to be able to make two passes before i am killed I know these are hi-risk attacks but I do like em.
 I usually attack from about 7.5K and dive as much as the plane will let me and release my load at about 2k then loop over and straffe on my second pass mainaly going for the ack.  any way any suggestions would be nice.  :D

Offline SpitLead

• Copper Member
attacking ground targets
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2001, 02:24:00 PM »
Well the best way and least risky is to do it at a higher altitude (above 7.5K AGL) level bombing.  However, if you feel you want to "go for broke" with a fighter bomber here are some tips:

First, take out the VH with your bombs.  Generally, you'll need at least 2-1000k bombs (except for VH bases).  Check your bomb craters in rear view to see if impacted on target. If it still doesn't go down strafe it until it does.  Ground Vehicles (GVs) represent a high threat to any low level base attack and they seem to proliferate like rabbits when the base is under attack.  

Secondly, have a good idea of the base layout (small, medium, large) which is basically the same for each size field.  Plan to strafe the ack so that 2-3 ack are lined up so you can take that many out on a single pass.  This will minimize the number of passes needed to knock all the ack out. After you've destroyed the last ack in each pass you MUST jink to avoid getting shot down.  Do a barrel roll or yank the stick around a lot, and changing altitude.  Extend and gain altitude so that you can do the next pass with high speed again.  Complete this until all acks are down.