Author Topic: Lesson 2: Gunnery  (Read 1962 times)

Offline Duckwing6

• Copper Member
      • http://www.pink.at
Lesson 2: Gunnery
« on: March 20, 2000, 06:53:00 AM »
As said in the previous post i'm trying to fly D-Hog... my gunnery is just about in the 5% range which is just not enough toget yor target disabled when it's aware that you're there...

so please post YOUR tips on (including Convergence and these kind of things):

THE ART OF AERIAL GUNNERY - OR HOW TO HIT A BARNDOOR

and also for completness:

HOW TO EVADE A GUYS BEST SHOT

Many Thanks in advance!

------------------

Phillip "Duckwing6" Artweger
Flight Officer "E" Flight
Skeleton Crew

[This message has been edited by Duckwing6 (edited 03-20-2000).]

Offline Ghosth

• AH Training Corps (retired)
  • Plutonium Member
      • http://332nd.org
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2000, 08:49:00 AM »
Well I'm no trainer, and I'm no pro. I get shot down more than I should. I also some days get a few kills.

Personally I like my conv out around 500.
Good shooting takes practise, since we have no H2H or offline drones I practised on bombers. (BTW Kieren has some great tips on how to line up those perfect bomber passes)

Nothing like getting in close to a big target to let you see what your hitting & how.
Of course that means you'll die to his guns sometimes also. Shrug, price of admission in my book.

Once you'r takeing the big boys down in a pass or 2, you should be ready to move on to the little guys. Course this is all my 2$ worth, agree, or not.

------------------
Maj Ghosth
XO 332nd Flying Mongrels

Offline humble

• Platinum Member
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2000, 01:56:00 PM »
you'll get a lot of different thoughts on this one....here's mine:

In a hog set your conv at 275 (6x.50) or 325 (4x20mm) and only fire inside these ranges. At first you'll suffer but you'll learn to anticipate better and soon you'll get better shots.