Author Topic: Wanting best connection and higher frames  (Read 405 times)

Offline 2Byoda

  • Zinc Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
      • http://na
Wanting best connection and higher frames
« on: December 18, 2001, 05:49:00 AM »
Get 40's at best with 56k modem.
Just upped ram 758mg and added gforse 2 video card 64mg. Yet no changes appear in frames? Any Ideas? Thanks  :rolleyes:

Offline maddog

  • Nickel Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 363
Wanting best connection and higher frames
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2001, 11:00:00 AM »
CPU?, sys specs?

[ 12-18-2001: Message edited by: maddog ]

Offline 2Byoda

  • Zinc Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
      • http://na
Wanting best connection and higher frames
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2001, 11:28:00 AM »
Quote
Originally posted by maddog:
CPU?, sys specs?

[ 12-18-2001: Message edited by: maddog ]

pentium III 500mg/hertz  windows 98 56k modem

Offline blackfalcon4

  • Nickel Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 405
Wanting best connection and higher frames
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2001, 03:48:00 PM »
YOYO

 bring that ram dwn to 512mb
 win98se can only address up to that.
have seen a few people actiually lose fps cuz of 2 much ram
 use the 21.83 drivers for card
the 500mhz is gonna limit ya, if u can and the mobo will take it, upgrade ur cpu, or u can try oc'n it but i dont think those oc well.

Offline maddog

  • Nickel Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 363
Wanting best connection and higher frames
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2001, 04:53:00 PM »
Exactly, 500Mhz is probably too slow to keep up with graphics.... Bloom is authority on this but I think you will find cpu limiting factor.... 40 fps isn't bad for that system..
MD

Offline akak

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 986
      • http://www.479thraiders.com
Wanting best connection and higher frames
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2001, 10:33:00 AM »
500MHz isn't too slow to keep up with the graphics in here.  I've got a 500MHz Celeron with 256megs of RAM and a 32-bit Geforce2 MX200 and get a consistant 35fps on deck and 45fps in the sky.

 
Quote
Originally posted by maddog:
Exactly, 500Mhz is probably too slow to keep up with graphics.... Bloom is authority on this but I think you will find cpu limiting factor.... 40 fps isn't bad for that system..
MD

Offline mrsid2

  • Parolee
  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1081
Wanting best connection and higher frames
« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2001, 01:24:00 AM »
yoda was that gf2 mx?

Offline 2Byoda

  • Zinc Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
      • http://na
Wanting best connection and higher frames
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2001, 02:08:00 AM »
Quote
Originally posted by Mr RiplEy:
yoda was that gf2 mx?

yes it is gf2 mx

Offline mrsid2

  • Parolee
  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1081
Wanting best connection and higher frames
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2001, 06:56:00 AM »
The mx series is just as bad a performer as the old gforce256 - won't do you much good.

With a really powerful cpu you'll get framerates up to 75 (teens in smoke) but that'll be just a waste of cpu.

You should have taken a real geforce2 or 3 if you want real improvement. More cpu power is required also. Bad part is though that even if you upgrade your cpu now, it won't make that much of a difference because you bought the mx.

Offline 2Byoda

  • Zinc Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
      • http://na
Wanting best connection and higher frames
« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2001, 09:02:00 AM »
Quote
Originally posted by Mr RiplEy:
The mx series is just as bad a performer as the old gforce256 - won't do you much good.

With a really powerful cpu you'll get framerates up to 75 (teens in smoke) but that'll be just a waste of cpu.

You should have taken a real geforce2 or 3 if you want real improvement. More cpu power is required also. Bad part is though that even if you upgrade your cpu now, it won't make that much of a difference because you bought the mx.
My previous video card was nvida tnt 16meg
My previous ram was 128. Comment please
Yodac
  :confused:

Offline bloom25

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1675
Wanting best connection and higher frames
« Reply #10 on: December 20, 2001, 09:04:00 PM »
A P3 500 is not fast enough to warrant dumping money into a GF 3, that's for sure.  You are entirely CPU bound on that system.

Adding that much ram to Windows 98 (or 95 or ME) will make no difference.  In fact 768 MB is the absolute limit that Windows 98 and ME can handle without tweaking system files to prevent, of all things, an "Out of Memory" error.  ;)

That frame rate sounds about right with those system specs.  The game *should* be very smooth for you as long as you aren't in dense smoke areas.  (My secondary system is a P3 450 with a Tnt 2 Ultra video card and it gets around 35 fps and is very playable.)

Modem speed makes no difference in framerate.