Author Topic: who made the best cc weapons in WW2?  (Read 6596 times)

Offline B@tfinkV

• Platinum Member
who made the best cc weapons in WW2?
« on: January 06, 2008, 07:59:02 PM »
close combat weapons im talking rifles and side arms. thompsons, M1, enfield, gw3 whatever. i am not an expert but i have played medal of honor a bit. from my stupid virtual experiences i would say i like the M1 Garand rifle and that german MP submachine gun. the Garand seems like an absolute beast with its rate of fire and acuracy. must have been a huge advantage fighting any ill equiped enemy, well from these silly games i've played anyhow.

but what was it like in real life? im sure the best close combat weapons must have been made by either the Germans or the Americans.

who made the best weapons looking back with the hindsight we have now?
 400 yrds on my tail, right where i want you... [/size]

Offline moot

• Plutonium Member
      • http://www.dasmuppets.com
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2008, 08:04:59 PM »
If those games are any indications, the M1, MP44 and FG42 or that russian drum-magazine PPSH to a lesser degree were those guns I'd most want in a WWII firefight..
Hello ant
running very fast
I squish you

Offline Arlo

• Radioactive Member
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2008, 08:06:48 PM »
Gonna boil down to what it's designed for and opinion.

I'm prejudiced toward American made arms, I freely admit. I like the Garand as a battle rifle, the M1A1 as a carbine, the Thompson as an SMG and the Colt 45 as a pistol ....

But the Germans made some rather awesome weapons ... including what most consider the first modern assault rifle. And the Brits made some special purpose weapons for the SAS that blow my mind.

Offline Pooh21

• Gold Member
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2008, 08:07:05 PM »
For Close fighting I think a spamgun, otherwise known as a PPSH would be best.
Bis endlich der Fiend am Boden liegt.
Bis Bishland bis Bishland bis Bishland wird besiegt!

Offline lasersailor184