Author Topic: Carrier Flak  (Read 2476 times)

Offline dirtdart

• Silver Member
Carrier Flak
« on: July 05, 2008, 10:52:29 AM »
Wow, where to start.  My first question would be about the fusing of the ack rounds.  Were they fused on the deck to pop at a certain altitude?  Are they proximity fused?  I was in a 262, 450 MPH, 14K, at least 8K from the CV horizontally, headed in the opposite direction of the CV and got hit???  I do not think that for a second was realistic.  How much of a lead would that human gunner, yes they were humans shooting those things, have to put on a plane that fast and at that altitude.  I was varying my alt by 1000 feet and moving left and right.  This is not a gripe, just a general discussion about realism.  I would personally request that HITECH dumb down the range of the CV ack or the accuracy of the gunners.  I have no experience as a WWII Flak gunner and would like to open this one up for discussion. 

If you are not GFC...you are wee!
Put on your boots boots boots...and parachutes..chutes...chutes.. .
Illigitimus non carborundum

Offline Wingnutt

• Silver Member
Re: Carrier Flak
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2008, 11:51:28 AM »
it shouldent try to engage maneuvering fighters at all IMO..

btw, you questioned something about the game, prepare to get flamed, this game is perfect, nothing has ever been changed due to input from the community, its always been the way it is now.

Offline SlapShot

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2008, 12:11:04 PM »
They are armed with radio proximity fuses ... so like hand grenades and horseshoes ... "close" is good enough ... it doesn't have to be a direct hit like most think.

I doubt very strongly, according to your description, that there was a human behind the firing of those shells. When in a 5" guns, there is no way that they can see you, that high and that far away, to try a guesstimate a firing solution on you.