Author Topic: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!  (Read 1177 times)

Offline HighGTrn

  • Copper Member
  • **
  • Posts: 179
{{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« on: August 11, 2008, 03:53:06 PM »
Hi Skuzzy.  Since the release of the latest patch, I've been plagued with a system lock up problem (not blaming the patch, just giving you a time reference of when it started).  It only occurs when I'm playing this game.  I've tried everything I can think of to include a complete, fresh install of the OS.  I sent you my dxdiag about 3 weeks ago, I don't know if you had a chance to look at it.  I sent it to the support email address.  If you didn't get it, let me know and I'll send it again.  Its too large to cut and paste in here.

So here is what happens:

I'm flying along and then all the sudden, the game locks up.  Whatever view I happened to be in freezes and whatever vox/sound is playing keeps playing forever.  There is no graceful way of recovering from these lock ups.  The only think I can do is hit the power button.  The only application running on this system other than the OS is this game.

I think it has something to do with my video driver (its updated to the latest driver) in combination with the latest patch (since all this started when I installed the new patch).  I run an IMac 24 with 3Gigs RAM (boot camp) with a GForce 7300 card.

This afternoon was the final straw cause after spending a couple of hours reinstalling the OS, I locked up within 30 seconds of upping.

Help!!

Thanks,

HighGTrn@yahoo.com
in game call sign: S1n1ster

Offline gpwurzel

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3831
Re: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2008, 11:30:24 PM »
I get these (generally when I dont reboot my system for a while). Narrowed it down to Terminal Services running, and polling - so killed that off (Dunno why, it just was). Also deleted my videocfg.8 file as well, which helped.

HTH,

Wurzel
I'm the worst pilot ingame ya know!!!

It's all unrealistic crap requested by people who want pie in the sky actions performed without an understanding of how things work and who can't grasp reality.


Offline Skuzzy

  • Support Member
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 31462
      • HiTech Creations Home Page
Re: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2008, 05:47:44 AM »
If you use Yahoo as your email address, it can take up to a week to get a response and then it will be in your SPAM folder.  Yahoo deliberately delays email delivery from us.

That said, if you send in something to support and do not get a reply within 24 hours, during the work week, then the email was either not received, or your email provider did not accept the response.

I do need a DXDIAG output to be able to provide some help.

Lockups like you are describing are typically related to resource issues in the computer.  Those can be anything from not enough free RAM, to interrupts being shared, to heat.
Roy "Skuzzy" Neese
support@hitechcreations.com

Offline HighGTrn

  • Copper Member
  • **
  • Posts: 179
Re: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2008, 05:39:51 AM »
Here is part of it.

------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 8/13/2008, 06:37:02
       Machine name: GAMING-89B96FA2
   Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3 (2600.xpsp.080413-2111)
           Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Apple Computer, Inc.
       System Model: iMac6,1
               BIOS: Default System BIOS
          Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU         T7400  @ 2.16GHz (2 CPUs)
             Memory: 3056MB RAM
          Page File: 165MB used, 4776MB available
        Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
     DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.5512 32bit Unicode

------------
DxDiag Notes
------------
  DirectX Files Tab: No problems found.
      Display Tab 1: No problems found.
        Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
        Sound Tab 2: No problems found.
          Music Tab: No problems found.
          Input Tab: No problems found.
        Network Tab: No problems found.

--------------------
DirectX Debug Levels
--------------------
Direct3D:    0/4 (n/a)
DirectDraw:  0/4 (retail)
DirectInput: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectMusic: 0/5 (n/a)
DirectPlay:  0/9 (retail)
DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
DirectShow:  0/6 (retail)

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
        Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 
     Manufacturer: NVIDIA
        Chip type: GeForce 7300 GT
         DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
       Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0395&SUBSYS_04020000&REV_A1
   Display Memory: 128.0 MB
     Current Mode: 1920 x 1200 (32 bit) (60Hz)
          Monitor: Default Monitor
  Monitor Max Res:
      Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
   Driver Version: 6.14.0011.7519 (English)
      DDI Version: 9 (or higher)
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
 Driver Date/Size: 5/16/2008 14:01:00, 6108928 bytes
      WHQL Logo'd: Yes
  WHQL Date Stamp: n/a
              VDD: n/a
         Mini VDD: nv4_mini.sys
    Mini VDD Date: 5/16/2008 14:01:00, 6557408 bytes
Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-40D5-11CF-EF7E-092400C2CB35}
        Vendor ID: 0x10DE
        Device ID: 0x0395
        SubSys ID: 0x04020000
      Revision ID: 0x00A1
      Revision ID: 0x00A1
      Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_B ModeMPEG2_C ModeMPEG2_D ModeWMV9_B ModeWMV9_A
 Deinterlace Caps: {6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
                   {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalSt retch
                   {6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
                   {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalSt retch
                   {6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
                   {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalSt retch
                   {6CB69578-7617-4637-91E5-1C02DB810285}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
                   {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalSt retch
         Registry: OK
     DDraw Status: Enabled
       D3D Status: Enabled
       AGP Status: Enabled
DDraw Test Result: Not run
 D3D7 Test Result: Not run
 D3D8 Test Result: Not run
 D3D9 Test Result: Not run

-------------
Sound Devices
-------------
            Description: Logitech USB Headset
 Default Sound Playback: Yes
 Default Voice Playback: No
            Hardware ID: USB\Vid_046d&Pid_0a0b&Rev_1013&MI_00
        Manufacturer ID: 65535
             Product ID: 65535
                   Type: WDM
            Driver Name: usbaudio.sys
         Driver Version: 5.01.2600.5512 (English)
      Driver Attributes: Final Retail
            WHQL Logo'd: Yes
          Date and Size: 4/13/2008 14:45:12, 60032 bytes
            Other Files:
        Driver Provider: Microsoft
         HW Accel Level: Full
              Cap Flags: 0xF5F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 0, 0
 Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
              HW Memory: 0
       Voice Management: No
 EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
   I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
               Registry: OK
      Sound Test Result: Not run

            Description: Realtek HD Audio output
 Default Sound Playback: No
 Default Voice Playback: Yes
            Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0885&SUBSYS_106B1000&REV_1001
        Manufacturer ID: 1
             Product ID: 100
                   Type: WDM
            Driver Name: RtkHDAud.sys
         Driver Version: 5.10.0000.5469 (English)
      Driver Attributes: Final Retail
            WHQL Logo'd: Yes
          Date and Size: 10/8/2007 20:59:17, 4607488 bytes
            Other Files:
        Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
         HW Accel Level: Full
              Cap Flags: 0xF5F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 8000, 192000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 33, 32
 Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 33, 32
              HW Memory: 0
       Voice Management: No
 EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: Yes, Yes
   I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: Yes, Yes
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
               Registry: OK
      Sound Test Result: Not run
in game call sign: S1n1ster

Offline Skuzzy

  • Support Member
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 31462
      • HiTech Creations Home Page
Re: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2008, 05:44:53 AM »
I assume you are running BOOTCAMP to run XP on it.

With the mobile Intel CPU you need to set the game to run in "Windows 98/ME" compatibility mode on the Apple due to the lack of dual high resolution clocks for the dual core CPU.

Right-click on the Aces High II startup ICON.  Select "Properties".  Select the "Compatibility" tab, and check the option to have the game run in compatibility mode, then select the "Windows 98/ME" option.  This will force the game to run on one CPU.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2008, 06:40:35 AM by Skuzzy »
Roy "Skuzzy" Neese
support@hitechcreations.com

Offline HighGTrn

  • Copper Member
  • **
  • Posts: 179
Re: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2008, 06:10:28 AM »
Thanks Skuzzy, I'll try that.  The other thing that seems to work well is deleting the video8.cfg file everytime I play.  I'll let u know.,

in game call sign: S1n1ster

Offline HighGTrn

  • Copper Member
  • **
  • Posts: 179
Re: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2008, 01:13:29 PM »
Ok, did some experimenting with my watch and the game.  I did like you said and enabled compatiblility with 98.  The longest I was able to play today was about 15 minutes before the system locked up on me.  Most times, it locks up within the first 5 minutes.

However, if I delete the video8.cfg file, I have no problems.  I'm not a programmer but my reasoning tells me the problem stems from something in the last patch and the driver for my GeForce 7300 card.  I've been playing with this system since Jan and had no problems with it until I installed the patch.  Any other ideas Skuzzy? :pray
in game call sign: S1n1ster

Offline killnu

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3056
Re: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« Reply #7 on: August 13, 2008, 01:30:07 PM »
this sounds a like what I am dealing with...except I am not on a Mac.  I tried to delete that video9 file...didnt work for me.  I stay on game for about 1-5 minutes every time.  Then it freezes up with last sound heard...or repeating last vox transmission.  I can only reboot PC to get out of AH at that point.
Karma, it follows you every where you go...

++The Blue Knights++

Offline HighGTrn

  • Copper Member
  • **
  • Posts: 179
Re: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« Reply #8 on: August 13, 2008, 01:44:10 PM »
I think I spoke too soon.  Even with deleting the video file, I'm still getting disco'd. 

This is getting really frustrating since I love to play this game.  However, it doesn't make much sense paying for a subscription if I can't even play.


in game call sign: S1n1ster

Offline Skuzzy

  • Support Member
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 31462
      • HiTech Creations Home Page
Re: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« Reply #9 on: August 13, 2008, 01:51:36 PM »
Wait a minute.  Are you getting a disco?  That is very different than a lockup.
Roy "Skuzzy" Neese
support@hitechcreations.com

Offline HighGTrn

  • Copper Member
  • **
  • Posts: 179
Re: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2008, 02:30:32 PM »
Sorry, I meant lock up.
in game call sign: S1n1ster

Offline Jing0

  • Zinc Member
  • *
  • Posts: 59
Re: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2008, 02:44:59 PM »
This sounds exactly like what happened to me, and my pc about 11 months ago, so long ago ive had to re sign up to the game and forums! Skuzzy tried to help me with it back then ( http://bbs.hitechcreations.com/smf/index.php/topic,234116.0.html ), and again more recently. I called in every computer whizz kid i know, learnt a lot about pcs and how the work, replaced damn near every part of the PC, in some cases several times.....


and in the end i spent 200squid on a new machine, new card, more ram etc, and it works fine.  never did get to the bottom of it. 

Offline HighGTrn

  • Copper Member
  • **
  • Posts: 179
Re: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« Reply #12 on: August 13, 2008, 04:15:21 PM »
Hi Jing,

Unfortunately, I can't spend a whole lot more since the system I have is already a state of the art Mack daddy system that cost me mucho quids.

What's frustrating is that it worked fine once.
in game call sign: S1n1ster

Offline The Fugitive

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 17316
      • Fugi's Aces Help
Re: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« Reply #13 on: August 13, 2008, 04:20:19 PM »
Ok, did some experimenting with my watch and the game.  I did like you said and enabled compatiblility with 98.  The longest I was able to play today was about 15 minutes before the system locked up on me.  Most times, it locks up within the first 5 minutes.

However, if I delete the video8.cfg file, I have no problems.  I'm not a programmer but my reasoning tells me the problem stems from something in the last patch and the driver for my GeForce 7300 card.  I've been playing with this system since Jan and had no problems with it until I installed the patch.  Any other ideas Skuzzy? :pray


just to clarify, the only change you did was the patch for the game, you did NOT update your video driver right?
The Fugitive

Aces High Help

Offline killnu

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3056
Re: {{Waving Hand from back of room}} Skuzzy!!!
« Reply #14 on: August 13, 2008, 04:34:04 PM »
i updated video drivers, SP3 and the game when I got back.  I have since uninstalled game adn reinstalled, rolled back video drivers to previous known good driver that worked for me.  no luck so far.
Karma, it follows you every where you go...

++The Blue Knights++