Author Topic: A film for critique/discussion. High spit vs lower F4U.  (Read 3041 times)

Offline mtnman

• Gold Member
A film for critique/discussion. High spit vs lower F4U.
« on: December 30, 2009, 03:57:55 AM »
I got into a fight tonight with a higher, faster Spit16, while in my F4U-1A.  Afterward, some questions came up regarding my "unlimited E" and my ability to climb with/out-climb the Spit16.

I'd like to offer up this film in an effort to discuss/critique the fight, and hopefully turn it into a learning experience for any that are interested.  I think there are a few things going on in this fight that a lot of people have trouble understanding or putting to use.  As a trainer, I run into questions on this particular "problem" quite often.

This isn't a fast and furious, super exciting fight.  But I think that may actually help with understanding some of the concepts.

In my case, how did I take a position of starting out lower/slower, and turn it into a co-E situation, and then morph that into being the aggressor myself?  How was I able to climb with/out-climb the spit16?

In my opponents case, what did he do that "helped me out", and what could he have done differently?  He was obviously trying to "play it safe" E-wise.  He had the advantage, and didn't want to squander it by getting careless.  Where's the line between "smart" and overly cautious.  How did conserving his E get him into trouble?  Since he has to spend some of his E to kill me, how can he put that E to better use?  Get the most "bang" for his "buck"?

I'm on my way to bed, I work some goofy hours for the next few nights.  I'll add to this post later, but would love to see some (er, a bunch of) input from others.  Let's teach this guy how to kill me in this situation...

http://www.4shared.com/file/184587550/62e25f90/Dazy_Spit16_long_0405.html
« Last Edit: December 30, 2009, 04:19:02 AM by mtnman »
MtnMan