Author Topic: I´m staying away from XFX brand cards, read why...  (Read 1335 times)

Offline MutleyBR

• Copper Member
I´m staying away from XFX brand cards, read why...
« on: March 09, 2010, 02:17:17 PM »
Hi all!

MI wife and I were using same brand and model video cards. XFX brand NVIDIA 8600 GT, model PV-T84J-UDF3 V 2.2 W12/07, GF 8600GT 540M 256MB DDR3 DUAL DVI TV PCI-E.

Her computer  is in the same room as mine. We were there using them. Suddenly, POP! We heard a loud noise, like a children's cap gun or .22 shot.

Being a retired Flight Engineer, I knew that something electrical or electronic had gone bad... I looked around, no arcing, no smoke, no smell of burned electrical/electronic  components.

So, I figured, whatever it was that made that noise, it had stopped.

A few days later, same thing, POP! And I couldn't find the source of that noise.

Some days later, same noise POP! Wife´s PC shut down. Turning PC on, no video.

Went to check video card. There were the causes of those noises, 3 literally blown up capacitors...

Installed an old NVIDIA card I had kept here as backup.

A few days later, I was playing and POP! That noise again... I just went to check MY PC video card, and there it was, a blown capacitor, literally blown up, again...

Although I'm not an IT professional, I have been into computers since 1969 when I took some Programming Courses for the IBM /360 computer. Have been using personal computers since the days of the Apple II.

I  had never seen this happen before.

Bought 2 NVIDIA 9600 GT cards, Elite(ECS) brand, and will stay away from XFX brand from now on.

Some may say, bad luck, too much heat, etc. If it were only one card I'd agree, but 2... No, that's bad manufacturing.

Sorry for the quality of the pictures, They were taken with a cellphone.

Mutley

"If you're in a fair fight, you didn't plan properly."
Nick Lapos, chief R&D pilot, Sikorsky Aircraft

"To go up, pull the stick. To go down, pull the stick back harder..."