Author Topic: what a disaster.  (Read 2265 times)

Offline straffo

  • Persona Non Grata
  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10029
what a disaster.
« Reply #15 on: October 04, 2001, 08:57:00 AM »
Read this post for a startup on bios setting (if you nee it  :))
 http://www.hitechcreations.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic&f=10&t=000671

Offline Lephturn

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1200
      • http://lephturn.webhop.net
what a disaster.
« Reply #16 on: October 04, 2001, 09:01:00 AM »
Folks, you get what you pay for.

If you find the lowest possible price for all your gear, you know they cut costs big time to get you that price.  You have to expect that kind of thing.

I deal with a local shop that has reasonable and competitive prices and some sharp people working there.  I don't always get the lowest price around, but I always get great service.  That's worth something, and it doesn't come for free.

Offline Skuzzy

  • Support Member
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 31462
      • HiTech Creations Home Page
what a disaster.
« Reply #17 on: October 04, 2001, 09:28:00 AM »
www.pricewatch.com  is a good site, but you have to be really careful about who you buy from.
Cit, send an email to pricewatch about the problems.  Pricewatch usually pulls sites from thier WEB site if they are not reputable.
I have been successful at getting them to pull a few sites in the past.  I now have a list of good suppliers I buy from.
Roy "Skuzzy" Neese
support@hitechcreations.com

Offline Ghosth

  • AH Training Corps (retired)
  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 8497
      • http://332nd.org
what a disaster.
« Reply #18 on: October 04, 2001, 09:45:00 AM »
Personally I've had good luck on Pricewatch.
However you do have to go over everything with a fine toothed comb.

I've had good luck with www.bunta.com   and www.samscomputersonline.com/config.asp   switched CPU coolers on me but otherwise has been good.

Skuzzy, I don't suppose you'd share that list of good suppliers?   :)

[ 10-04-2001: Message edited by: Ghosth ]

Offline AcId

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1090
what a disaster.
« Reply #19 on: October 04, 2001, 10:13:00 AM »
I too have had good luck on pricewatch. At the same time though I knew what I wanted and what to look for. There sometimes exist products that perform a little slower or have less functionality than the original design and this is what you have to watch out for. Always make sure that you print out all the related documentation available so that you can compare it with whats being sold in order to make sure you are getting what you really want.

It's true that we as consumers shouldn't have to be as carefull as a blindman disarming a nuclear weapon but it's becoming a fact of "online shopping". Just be cautious make sure that what is being shipped to you is what you want. At least they got most of it.  :D

Offline Apar1

  • Copper Member
  • **
  • Posts: 169
      • http://gruenherz.carnimaniac.pronym.org/
what a disaster.
« Reply #20 on: October 04, 2001, 10:40:00 AM »
Been building my own compu's since 8 years now. I never by a "complete system". I put together a configuration and start buying the goods seperately. I also don't shop online for computer articles, I go to the shops and inspect the goods first and pay cash in the store.
The only time I went back to a shop was when one of the items malfunctioned.
It requires some research on the best configuration I can buy for the money I want to spent but it's well worth it.

Offline HottRod

  • Zinc Member
  • *
  • Posts: 24
what a disaster.
« Reply #21 on: October 04, 2001, 12:18:00 PM »
I would suggest after chosing a seller on pricewatch, check their ratings at www.resellerratings.com

Offline Tac

  • Platinum Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4085
what a disaster.
« Reply #22 on: October 04, 2001, 02:10:00 PM »
They should not charge you the 15% if they shipped you the wrong card!

Your MBD is ok (hey its the same one I have!).

A tip with the A7M266: Remove the V101 jumper so your RAM is not OC'd (it is on 2.7V instead of 2.5V by default, even if the manual says otherwise). Disable sound card both in jumper and BIOS (if you have your own sound card though. Onboard sound is of good quality anyway. Use the 1.4 bios and the VIA 4 in 1 drivers. Its a good MBD, and its compatible with the coming Palominos (the A7V isnt I think).

If you need BIOS settings Fester, I can take my digital camera and snap my A7M266's settings for you. And yes it should read 133 AND turbo mode should be on (otherwise it will say 1050mhz when it boots, not 1400mhz  ;) )

Keep the A7M266, its a Great Mobo! Put 2X256mb sticks of 2100 CRUCIAL DDR-RAM on it and it will blow!  :)  :D

Offline Vermillion

  • Platinum Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4012
what a disaster.
« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2001, 03:46:00 PM »
I'm like Apar, I use pricewatch extensively to build my own systems and many for my friends.

But I have never ordered a complete system, I order the specific parts, usually from different distributors since your charged shipping by the part, so its cost effective to go with one of the cheaper priced distributors for each part.

That way if you do get a bum company that tries to screw you, you never have a huge loss, and its easier to prove to the CC company that they didn't send you what you ordered if you keep documentation and you ordered one specific part.

Good Luck Fester, I hope you get things worked out. I would suggest calling your CC company if they start trying to charge you a restocking fee in this situation.

Offline Staga

  • Parolee
  • Platinum Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5334
      • http://www.nohomersclub.com/
what a disaster.
« Reply #24 on: October 04, 2001, 05:12:00 PM »
Tac I took out VIO1 jumper from my mobo but had to put it back 'cause it become unstable in 144MHz bus-speed.
With jumper it runs like a dream @1,51GHz  :)

Offline Fester'

  • Parolee
  • Copper Member
  • **
  • Posts: 336
what a disaster.
« Reply #25 on: October 05, 2001, 07:04:00 PM »
rgr

I need best settings for the vio and vio1 jumpers

i put them on the default settings of 3.3 volts and 2.5 volts and comp is slow


I also need the 4 in 1 driver set if anyone has it  :)

and I need to get a new version of windows (i have full version of win98 1st edition only)  because the a7m266 dosnt recognize inputs from usb j/s even though it recognizes j/s and the patch to fix the problem says "this patch is not made for your version of windows" grrr.

Offline Staga

  • Parolee
  • Platinum Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5334
      • http://www.nohomersclub.com/

Offline Rendar

  • Copper Member
  • **
  • Posts: 112
what a disaster.
« Reply #27 on: October 06, 2001, 08:11:00 PM »
http://www.resellerratings.com

Go there the next time.  I choose only those who are 4.5 and above.

Some good ones:

tcwo.com
essencompu.com
axiontech.com
i-market.com
atacom.com
kdcomputers.com
jazztechnology.com