Author Topic: Commissioned Artwork  (Read 1127 times)

Offline TeeArr

• Copper Member
Commissioned Artwork
« on: May 10, 2012, 10:46:49 AM »
As most of you know, I was an Officer in the USAF.  I recently commissioned a nationally (and internationally) known artist to render "My" Bird.  He has done mostly WW II, Korea, and Viet Nam planes for guys like Dick Cole (Doolittle's Co-Pilot in "The Raid"), Bud Anderson, Leo Thorsness, Ken Dahlberg, Joe Foss and George McGovern.  He also interviews each of the pilots who flew the planes he draws.
If you go to his website, you can see the first iterations of my project, and see plus read about the projects he has done in the past.
Although I have commissioned this project, it really isn't about me, but rather all the men and women who did this job, and others like it all throughout the Cold War.
Even if my particular project doesn't interest you, the other stuff he has done will...it is magnificent.
You can see his work (and yes, my project) at
www.JohnMollison.com .
TeeArr.

Offline Butcher

• Platinum Member
Re: Commissioned Artwork
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2012, 11:17:23 AM »
That is some seriously beautiful artwork
JG 52

Offline Frodo

• Platinum Member
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2012, 11:32:13 AM »
 :aok Very nice.

JG11 

TEAMWORK IS ESSENTIAL....IT GIVES THE ENEMY SOMEONE ELSE TO SHOOT AT.

Offline Alky

• Nickel Member
« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2012, 11:37:50 AM »
As most of you know, I was an Officer in the USAF.  I recently commissioned a nationally (and internationally) known artist to render "My" Bird. 
Which one is your project?   :)
George "AlkyŽ" Fisher

Offline TeeArr

• Copper Member
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2012, 11:39:51 AM »
My project is the Minuteman III ICBM.

Teearr.

Offline B4Buster

• Platinum Member
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2012, 11:51:10 AM »