Author Topic: FPS  (Read 1803 times)

Offline monroekw

  • Zinc Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
FPS
« on: September 12, 2016, 09:39:25 PM »
Using AH2 I get 60 fps.  As soon as I switch to AH3 i get less than 30 fps. Approximately the same settings.
Does anyone know why?

Online The Fugitive

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 15858
      • 56 FG "Zemke's Wolfpack"
Re: FPS
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2016, 09:56:28 PM »
Yes, AH2 is dependent on a good CPU, AH3 is dependent on a good video card. My guess is you have a decent CPU, but an average, or below average video card.

Post a dxdiag report so we can see what you have and advise you on the settings to adjust and make the game have higher FRs.

Offline ImADot

  • Platinum Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6215
Re: FPS
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2016, 09:58:18 PM »
Post your system specs and game settings. The first thing to do in AH3 is to try 1024 or even 512 textures, turn off all post lighting effects, and set the environment mapping to none.
My Current Rig:
GigaByte GA-X99-UD4 Mobo w/ 16Gb RAM
Intel i7 5820k, Win7 64-bit
NVidia GTX 970 4Gb ACX 2.0
Track IR, CH Fighterstick, CH Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals

Offline 1stpar3

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2603
Re: FPS
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2016, 01:19:51 AM »
I found a drop of resolution helped a lot also. Default FOV is 80, too much for some folk, would advise you use as small as you can stand it,FOV. That works good but if still having issues go ahead and drop resolution a notch. I went from 1928-1080 to 1600-1050 and got 15 plus fps upgrade. The notch below that one improved FPS almost 40 improvement. Also the tower and clip board open is worst place to check FPS. Also Ports for some reason

Offline Skuzzy

  • Support Member
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 31462
      • HiTech Creations Home Page
Re: FPS
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2016, 06:24:23 AM »
The best settings in AH2 do not look as good as the worst settings in AH3.  Simply put, AH3 is doing a lot more graphic work than AH2 ever did.  Most, if not all, of that work is being done by the video card.

If you want AH2-like performance, then disable all the graphics options in AH3.  It will not get the exact performance of AH2, but it will come a lot closer and still look better than AH2 ever did.

A DXDIAG output would help provide suggested settings to match your computer hardware.
Roy "Skuzzy" Neese
support@hitechcreations.com

Offline Condor

  • Nickel Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 704
Re: FPS
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2016, 11:27:49 AM »
I have a Radeon HD 6950 and until last night I was able to get FPS of 45-55 consistently in GVs with default graphics except for shadows disabled and environmental slider at none. Last night I had to disable everything to get frame rates above 30. Is it the map? There was more action than I have seen previously but only about 50% more.  There was a lot more noise from bombing.

Sorry Skuzzy, but I can't agree with your statement. The AH3 worst graphics settings did not look to me as the best AH2. But with just bump mapping and ground clutter enabled they are better than best AH2. I couldn't even have those enabled last night.

Here are the basic of my system. Full DxDiag attached.
------------------

   Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_ldr.160408-2045)
           Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
       System Model: Z68XP-UD3
               BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
          Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.7GHz
             Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8110MB RAM
          Page File: 2962MB used, 13253MB available
        Windows Dir: C:\WindowsX Setup Parameters: Not found
   

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
          Card name: AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
       Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
          Chip type: AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x6719)
           DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
         Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6719&SUBSYS_E182174B&REV_00
     Display Memory: 1735 MB
   Dedicated Memory: 2032 MB
      Shared Memory: 3798 MB
       Current Mode: 1920 x 1200 (32 bit) (60Hz)
       Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
      Monitor Model: PA248
         Monitor Id: ACI24B1
        Native Mode: 1920 x 1200(p) (59.950Hz)
        Output Type: HDMI
       -------------
Sound Devices
-------------
            Description: Speakers (Sound Blaster Z)

I have an FSP 700 PSU.

Until last night I thought I wouldn't need to update the video card but now I'm wondering. It benchmarks more tha 3X faster than the minimum recommended GTX9800.
Balrog in game. Some day my performance may justify the name. LOL

Offline Bizman

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 8563
      • Lentolaivue 32
Re: FPS
« Reply #6 on: September 13, 2016, 11:53:41 AM »
Condor, it might be the map. I have a HD 6970 on a slightly weaker system and at times my FPS take a dip. It has to be admitted that the HD 6900 series are starting to show their age.

Knowing that HT uses a GTX 660 in his development system I assume that could be considered as a "recommended minimum for a mostly fluent gameplay with the cost of some graphics". Also knowing our cards rank just a tad lower than that in benchmarks, mediocre performance should not be a surprise.

Knowing all that I must admit that deep inside I still am hoping that some magic would boost my card to give a solid 60 FPS in all situations.
Quote from: BaldEagl, applies to myself, too
I've got an older system by today's standards that still runs the game well by my standards.

Kotisivuni

Offline Condor

  • Nickel Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 704
Re: FPS
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2016, 12:09:05 PM »
Knowing all that I must admit that deep inside I still am hoping that some magic would boost my card to give a solid 60 FPS in all situations.

Bizman, I've had the same hope and thought it was realized when we went to the current version. I saw an improvement in FPS. But now......
Fortunately I can afford an upgrade and am considering the GTX 1060.
Balrog in game. Some day my performance may justify the name. LOL

Offline Bizman

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 8563
      • Lentolaivue 32
Re: FPS
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2016, 12:37:14 PM »
Based what Kanth experienced in another thread that looks like a very tempting choice.
Quote from: BaldEagl, applies to myself, too
I've got an older system by today's standards that still runs the game well by my standards.

Kotisivuni

Offline monroekw

  • Zinc Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: FPS
« Reply #9 on: September 13, 2016, 09:34:10 PM »
Here is my DXDIAG


System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 9/13/2016, 22:24:06
       Machine name: CYBER
   Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_ldr.160408-2045)
           Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: System manufacturer
       System Model: System Product Name
               BIOS: BIOS Date: 11/16/10 11:24:46 Ver: 08.00.15
          Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 970 Processor (4 CPUs), ~3.5GHz
             Memory: 8192MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 8190MB RAM
          Page File: 3806MB used, 13072MB available
        Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
DX Setup Parameters: Not found
   User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
 System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
     DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 64bit Unicode

Display Devices
---------------
          Card name: ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
       Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
          Chip type: ATI display adapter (0x68B8)
           DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
         Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68B8&SUBSYS_22881787&REV_00
     Display Memory: 753 MB
   Dedicated Memory: 1010 MB
      Shared Memory: 3839 MB
       Current Mode: 1920 x 1080 (32 bit) (60Hz)
       Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
      Monitor Model: SAMSUNG
         Monitor Id: SAM08FE
        Native Mode: 1920 x 1080(p) (60.000Hz)
        Output Type: HDMI
        Driver Name: aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx64.dll,aticfx32,aticfx32,aticfx32,atiumd64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atidxx64.dll,atiumdag,atidxx32,atidxx32,atiumdva,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
Driver File Version: 8.17.0010.1077 (English)
     Driver Version: 8.850.0.0
        DDI Version: 11
       Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
Sound Devices
-------------
            Description: Speakers (Realtek High Definition Audio)
 Default Sound Playback: Yes
 Default Voice Playback: Yes
            Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0892&SUBSYS_104383C0&REV_1003
        Manufacturer ID: 1
             Product ID: 100
                   Type: WDM
            Driver Name: RTKVHD64.sys
         Driver Version: 6.00.0001.6037 (English)
      Driver Attributes: Final Retail
            WHQL Logo'd: Yes
          Date and Size: 1/29/2010 02:48:44, 2260256 bytes
            Other Files:
        Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
         HW Accel Level: Basic
              Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
 Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
              HW Memory: 0
       Voice Management: No
 EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
   I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

            Description: Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio)
 Default Sound Playback: No
 Default Voice Playback: No
            Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_10EC&DEV_0892&SUBSYS_104383C0&REV_1003
        Manufacturer ID: 1
             Product ID: 100
                   Type: WDM
            Driver Name: RTKVHD64.sys
         Driver Version: 6.00.0001.6037 (English)
      Driver Attributes: Final Retail
            WHQL Logo'd: Yes
          Date and Size: 1/29/2010 02:48:44, 2260256 bytes
            Other Files:
        Driver Provider: Realtek Semiconductor Corp.



Offline Skuzzy

  • Support Member
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 31462
      • HiTech Creations Home Page
Re: FPS
« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2016, 06:10:42 AM »
Which 5700 series video card is it?
Roy "Skuzzy" Neese
support@hitechcreations.com

Offline monroekw

  • Zinc Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: FPS
« Reply #11 on: September 14, 2016, 09:14:26 PM »
ATI radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5 16XPClevideo card

Offline Condor

  • Nickel Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 704
Re: FPS
« Reply #12 on: September 14, 2016, 10:54:14 PM »
Before Monday I was getting FPS of 45-55 consistently in GVs with default graphics except for shadows disabled and environmental slider at none with Radeon HD 6950. Monday night I had to disable everything to get frame rates above 30. Tonight I was getting FPS of 50-59 again on tank island with default graphics except for shadows disabled and environmental slider at none. There was as much action tonight as Monday night. Everything looked really great tonight. I hope this is the norm in the future but what changed?
Balrog in game. Some day my performance may justify the name. LOL

Offline Skuzzy

  • Support Member
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 31462
      • HiTech Creations Home Page
Re: FPS
« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2016, 06:09:16 AM »
ATI radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5 16XPClevideo card

Are you running with default settings in the game?

Before Monday I was getting FPS of 45-55 consistently in GVs with default graphics except for shadows disabled and environmental slider at none with Radeon HD 6950. Monday night I had to disable everything to get frame rates above 30. Tonight I was getting FPS of 50-59 again on tank island with default graphics except for shadows disabled and environmental slider at none. There was as much action tonight as Monday night. Everything looked really great tonight. I hope this is the norm in the future but what changed?

Nothing on our side.  Did you check CPU usage when it was doing that (task manager)?  My guess is, something was running taking the CPU away from the game.  Even though AHIII is more dependent on video card performance, it still needs the CPU in order to get the data to the video card.

If you are running Windows 10, it will do updates while games are running which can hurt performance.
« Last Edit: September 15, 2016, 06:11:00 AM by Skuzzy »
Roy "Skuzzy" Neese
support@hitechcreations.com

Offline monroekw

  • Zinc Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: FPS
« Reply #14 on: September 15, 2016, 08:35:02 AM »
i tried default settings and then i lowered all of my graphic settings.
i lowered resolution and changed FOV and i am now getting 40 fps but my graphics is terrible.  Is my video card sufficient?