Author Topic: Hangar Tells Range  (Read 1008 times)

Offline 19zac

  • Zinc Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
      • 19th Bombardment Group
Hangar Tells Range
« on: December 02, 2017, 10:46:08 AM »
When picking fuel loadout, next to the minutes of flight that fuel loadout gives you, add the approximate range of that plane as well, given that amount of fuel.


~CRAZY EYEBALLS~
"BZacc"

Offline DubiousKB

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1614
Re: Hangar Tells Range
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2017, 10:54:14 AM »
Tough to do as the actual "range" can vary based on RPM and manifold pressure settings, as well as altitude. So i assume it's a safer bet to show the max time a given fuel loadout can give you...  IMO

I've been wrong before, but that's my take on it.  :salute
56th Fighter Group -  Jug Life

Offline 19zac

  • Zinc Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
      • 19th Bombardment Group
Re: Hangar Tells Range
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2017, 11:05:56 AM »
Tough to do as the actual "range" can vary based on RPM and manifold pressure settings, as well as altitude. So i assume it's a safer bet to show the max time a given fuel loadout can give you...  IMO

I've been wrong before, but that's my take on it.  :salute

In-flight time changes too though. That max time will go up in-flight with lower RPMs. But yea range might be harder to pinpoint.
~CRAZY EYEBALLS~
"BZacc"

Offline DubiousKB

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1614
Re: Hangar Tells Range
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2017, 11:12:15 AM »
hmmm  :old:

So HTC just gives us the "ballz to the wall" throttle and RPM settings that produce max time in the given airframe with a given loadout...

Is there a specific reason you're trying to arrive home on fumes?  :devil

56th Fighter Group -  Jug Life

Offline 19zac

  • Zinc Member
  • *
  • Posts: 67
      • 19th Bombardment Group
Re: Hangar Tells Range
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2017, 11:19:36 AM »
hmmm  :old:

So HTC just gives us the "ballz to the wall" throttle and RPM settings that produce max time in the given airframe with a given loadout...

Is there a specific reason you're trying to arrive home on fumes?  :devil

7 sector fighter escort for my strat-raiding bombing squad mates :)
~CRAZY EYEBALLS~
"BZacc"

Offline DubiousKB

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1614
Re: Hangar Tells Range
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2017, 11:25:06 AM »
some math involved...  :aok  :rofl  :cheers:

Good Luck sir!
56th Fighter Group -  Jug Life

Online Volron

  • Platinum Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 5799
Re: Hangar Tells Range
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2017, 11:45:21 AM »
Just have it tell range based on the cruise settings you see in the E6B. :)
Quote from: hitech
Wow I find it hard to believe it has been almost 38 days since our last path. We should have release another 38 versions by now  :bhead
HiTech
Quote from: Pyro
Quote from: Jolly
What on Earth makes you think that i said that sir?!
My guess would be scotch.

Offline DubiousKB

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1614
Re: Hangar Tells Range
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2017, 11:50:36 AM »
Yeah, i think OP was hoping for some variable ranges vs flight time in the hanger... When in flight the E6B will give you great details on range given your current performance.

Best to give it a little test or 2 if you've got a specific flight plan in place... when in doubt, take more fuel.... :bolt:
56th Fighter Group -  Jug Life

Offline ImADot

  • Platinum Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6215
Re: Hangar Tells Range
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2017, 12:52:13 PM »
Will you be flying with the wind, against the wind, high, low, max cruise, full military... How can Hitech guess how you fly? I think it's enough that it gives you a baseline at sea level.
My Current Rig:
GigaByte GA-X99-UD4 Mobo w/ 16Gb RAM
Intel i7 5820k, Win7 64-bit
NVidia GTX 970 4Gb ACX 2.0
Track IR, CH Fighterstick, CH Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals

Offline icepac

  • Platinum Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6816
Re: Hangar Tells Range
« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2017, 03:49:25 PM »
7 sector fighter escort for my strat-raiding bombing squad mates :)

Almost as far as the 163 can intercept enemy.

Offline cav58d

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3985
Re: Hangar Tells Range
« Reply #10 on: December 03, 2017, 10:44:32 PM »
Will you be flying with the wind, against the wind, high, low, max cruise, full military... How can Hitech guess how you fly? I think it's enough that it gives you a baseline at sea level.

So give us an E6B or a performance calculator where we manually input information.
<S> Lyme

Sick Puppies II

412th Friday Night Volunteer Group

Offline Ciaphas

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1955
      • DethKlokDave
Re: Hangar Tells Range
« Reply #11 on: December 04, 2017, 03:08:55 AM »
If you have a calculator you could do this on your own. You could also gauge the baselines using the E6B by sitting on a rear field runway and and gather the information using incremental throttle positions coupled with matched or typical manifold settings that you typically use. It would give you a good indicator but will not be perfect because there are variables that you have to take in to account once you get airborne.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
10.(Jabo)/JG 26 Nuisance Raids Scenario


Offline Mongoose

  • Silver Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1575
      • Kentwood Station
Re: Hangar Tells Range
« Reply #12 on: December 04, 2017, 08:46:00 PM »
When picking fuel loadout, next to the minutes of flight that fuel loadout gives you, add the approximate range of that plane as well, given that amount of fuel.

This will vary depending on how high you climb.  The climbing time won't affect the flight time, but it will affect the range.
My Aces High fan site:
www.kentwoodstation.com