Author Topic: New feature for the Object Editor please  (Read 110 times)

Offline Easyscor

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10447
New feature for the Object Editor please
« on: October 06, 2019, 07:21:45 PM »
My request is to enable a click and drag function to save thousands of clicks when creating or modifying terrain tiles or large sq. tiles while placing and moving items.

Currently, to move an object in the OE, you must:
click on the object (or preselect a group) in the edit window,
then click on the move button on the right,
then click & drag in the edit window, (not necessarily on any object),
then click on the OK window to confirm.

Once a selection is made of one or more objects, I'd like to Crtl+drag or Alt+drag to move the object(s) please.

Thanks
Since Tour 19 - 2001

Offline Vraciu

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10620
Re: New feature for the Object Editor please
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2019, 08:03:49 PM »
This would be awesome for airplanes as well.   The original mouse controls were much better than the keyboard ones.    I wish we had both.   It was awesome using the mouse to zoom or fully rotate an object any way I wanted in an instant. 

My keyboard CONSTANTLY gives me a Windows error ding when I press a key to move an object.    Utterly maddening.   :bhead
Charter Member of the Mustang Skin Mafia
King of the Hill Champ, Tour 219
”COVFEFE!”
You Know It Don't Come Easy...The Road of the Gypsy...  https://youtu.be/LGF_R8wtgvA
Don’t Mess With Texas - https://youtu.be/XlFD0Zyl_f0

Offline hitech

  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11200
      • http://www.hitechcreations.com
Re: New feature for the Object Editor please
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2019, 12:59:27 PM »
My request is to enable a click and drag function to save thousands of clicks when creating or modifying terrain tiles or large sq. tiles while placing and moving items.

Currently, to move an object in the OE, you must:
click on the object (or preselect a group) in the edit window,
then click on the move button on the right,
then click & drag in the edit window, (not necessarily on any object),
then click on the OK window to confirm.

Once a selection is made of one or more objects, I'd like to Crtl+drag or Alt+drag to move the object(s) please.

Thanks

Think about moving out side of your current view.

HiTech

Offline Easyscor

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10447
Re: New feature for the Object Editor please
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2019, 08:54:16 PM »
Think about moving out side of your current view.
HiTech

If I understand you correctly, that wouldn't be any different then now. The object(s) would remain selected while adjusting the view. The Crll+M key helps, but it's on the other sided of the keyboard from s,w,a,d, and requires taking your hand off the mouse or keyboard. Even then, all those extra clicks, mouse movements and hand movements add up. Reducing them would be a big help.
I'm not half finish with the first terrain tile and I have 20 more to go counting a square tile.  :ahand

In addition, it doesn't help that the object scaling doesn't lock on some of the objects when it's changed. I'm forced to load the objects data from the .swa file and run an auto correct in excel from time to time.

Thanks.

Still working on the notes I promised. The Oculus install is different from the Home page download.
 :cheers:
« Last Edit: October 07, 2019, 08:59:03 PM by Easyscor »
Since Tour 19 - 2001

Offline hitech

  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11200
      • http://www.hitechcreations.com
Re: New feature for the Object Editor please
« Reply #4 on: October 08, 2019, 12:55:33 PM »
Never mind, I was thinking of the Terrain Editor not the Object Editor.
I'll Take a look.

HiTech

Offline Easyscor

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10447
Re: New feature for the Object Editor please
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2019, 08:27:14 PM »
Thanks, my wrists and fingers appreciate that, my persistence with it even more, it's a daunting task.
Since Tour 19 - 2001

Offline Easyscor

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10447
Re: New feature for the Object Editor please
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2019, 02:13:36 PM »
A couple more things, well, two of them are bugs actually. I'll also post the bugs in the proper forum.

When typing into the properties window (again in the OE) if you hit the delete key in any text box, the object in the edit window is deleted leaving a phantom image.

In the edit window, if you hit the delete key or the delete button in the editor's buttons, it also leaves a phantom image.

Wish: I'd like to be able to rotate groups of objects in the OE in a similar way that you can in the TE. Again, to save time & effort. The way it works now you must rotate each object separately and then realign them. I guess this might be a bug too.
Since Tour 19 - 2001