Author Topic: Joystick  (Read 857 times)

Offline ULPink

• Copper Member
Joystick
« on: May 28, 2020, 06:52:48 AM »
I have an old second hand Thrustmaster T-Hotas (the $89 one) and lately, my plane is bouncing all over the place whenever I apply pressure, particularly on the elevators.  This makes it very difficult to hit the things I am aiming at.  I have a new Thrustmaster 1600M coming in today...are there advanced settings published for different common joysticks anywhere.  Should I use scaling?  I spent hours trying yo make the old stick work and it seems I have to calibrate it each time I log on.   I will appreciate any advice...

Thanks
Check Six!

Offline Max

• Platinum Member
Re: Joystick
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2020, 08:05:06 AM »
After many years of faithful service, my CH Fighterstick began giving me nosebouce due to worn or dirty potentiometers. About 2 months ago I moved to the T16000 and like it a lot. The throw of the handle has just the right pressure vs the F-stick, which which had a wider, softer arc of movement. I've played with scaling for X & Y axes (still use my CH Peds for rudder) using 3 variations:
1. All sliders at 100%  - I found this way too precise, tight if you will, as I tend to be a bit ham fisted.
2. Sliders set to default setting.
3. Setting the far left slider (0) to the 50% level and sliders 70, 80, 90 to the 100% level. Sliders in between are graduated incrementally inbetween.

I find deafult setting to be my favorite. There's been no desire or need to adjust damping or deadband.

Hope that helps. You may want to duplicate the post in Hardware & Software

Offline FLS

• AH Training Corps
  • Plutonium Member
      • Trainer's Website
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2020, 11:06:43 AM »