Author Topic: world failure -9 error after patch  (Read 140 times)

Offline 800nate800

  • Nickel Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 619
world failure -9 error after patch
« on: June 01, 2020, 08:25:01 PM »
stupid crap happened last time. WTF. :furious
former squeaker, but you wont 1v1 about it
Most my friends are banned......
Kommando Nowotny

Online The Fugitive

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 16132
      • 56 FG "Zemke's Wolfpack"
Re: world failure -9 error after patch
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2020, 08:44:16 PM »
Download the full install. For some reason you install failed.

https://bbs.hitechcreations.com/smf/index.php/topic,382061.0.html

Offline 800nate800

  • Nickel Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 619
Re: world failure -9 error after patch
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2020, 12:38:14 AM »
thank you fugitive.... but it happened with last patch as well
former squeaker, but you wont 1v1 about it
Most my friends are banned......
Kommando Nowotny

Offline hitech

  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11684
      • http://www.hitechcreations.com
Re: world failure -9 error after patch
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2020, 10:43:03 AM »
That would be caused if stdshape.res is not being patched correctly.

I have seen viruses change stdshape.res and causing it not to be able to be patched.

HiTech

Offline FLS

  • AH Training Corps
  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10742
      • Trainer's Website
Re: world failure -9 error after patch
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2020, 01:54:17 PM »
I thought the usual problem was some anti-virus programs?

Offline hitech

  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11684
      • http://www.hitechcreations.com
Re: world failure -9 error after patch
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2020, 02:57:56 PM »
I thought the usual problem was some anti-virus programs?
That can happen on exe patches.

HiTech

Offline Bizman

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 8705
      • Lentolaivue 32
Re: world failure -9 error after patch
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2020, 01:29:09 AM »
Another culprit can be the anti-virus you're using. Even worse, it can be the remains of the anti-virus that was pre-installed in your computer - all brand names have them and some bigger builders as well. I've seen removed McAfee do very strange things starting from preventing Windows from updating.

In such case running the removal tool from the anti-virus manufacturer should (not guaranteed!) take care of what's left of the normal uninstalling procedure.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2020, 01:33:54 AM by Bizman »
Quote from: BaldEagl, applies to myself, too
I've got an older system by today's standards that still runs the game well by my standards.

Kotisivuni

Offline 800nate800

  • Nickel Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 619
Re: world failure -9 error after patch
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2020, 07:46:49 PM »
Another culprit can be the anti-virus you're using. Even worse, it can be the remains of the anti-virus that was pre-installed in your computer - all brand names have them and some bigger builders as well. I've seen removed McAfee do very strange things starting from preventing Windows from updating.

In such case running the removal tool from the anti-virus manufacturer should (not guaranteed!) take care of what's left of the normal uninstalling procedure.
but uninstalling and reinstalling aces high works?
former squeaker, but you wont 1v1 about it
Most my friends are banned......
Kommando Nowotny

Online The Fugitive

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 16132
      • 56 FG "Zemke's Wolfpack"
Re: world failure -9 error after patch
« Reply #8 on: June 03, 2020, 08:03:21 PM »
Just do a fresh download of the game and install it OVER AHIII. It will fix the error and you wont lose anysetting <crosses fingers>

Offline Bizman

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 8705
      • Lentolaivue 32
Re: world failure -9 error after patch
« Reply #9 on: June 04, 2020, 02:29:50 AM »
but uninstalling and reinstalling aces high works?
Still plausible. Installing from scratch will create the folders needed so the anti-virus won't interfere with the process. The background protection activity can change the attributes of the installed files and folders, making them read only - locking them against changes in layman terms. That will effectively prevent any updates! A similar feature can even be an option in your chosen anti-virus, potentially named something like "program protection", hidden deep in the settings.
Quote from: BaldEagl, applies to myself, too
I've got an older system by today's standards that still runs the game well by my standards.

Kotisivuni

Offline hitech

  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11684
      • http://www.hitechcreations.com
Re: world failure -9 error after patch
« Reply #10 on: June 04, 2020, 08:44:54 AM »
Just run the latest patch as administrator it's in the Aces High temp folder.