Author Topic: Adding an BB Group to an existing map  (Read 106 times)

Offline JimmyD3

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2239
Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« on: February 22, 2021, 10:45:58 AM »
Adding a BB to an existing should be the same as adding a CV right? I am doing something wrong when trying to add a BB group to and existing Port. I add a MR for the new BB, create the group, assign the new group id, and associate with the existing port. It shows up on the CBM, however I can't get on it, and it never shows up in the country assigned.  :headscratch:
Kenai77
Sic Puppies
USAF 1971-76

Online Easyscor

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10688
Re: Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2021, 12:04:23 PM »
If you can see the TG, either flying or in CM-Eye mode, then use .sfield [field number] [country number] to switch it to the country you want.
Easy in-game again.
Since Tour 19 - 2001

Offline JimmyD3

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2239
Re: Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2021, 07:51:59 PM »
Got BB's for each country, assigned to their respective Ports. Did a save, built new CBM, now all 3 BB's are blue/bishop (btw this is in the Terrain Editor). Changing Zone does nothing about the ownership of the BB's. Went ahead and did a Build, started AH3 all 3 BB's show up as Bishop but located adjacent to their respective Ports. Went into the Arena settings and got all three changed to the appropriate ownerships. I am still confused as to why this does not work in the Editor, I must still be doing something wrong.
Kenai77
Sic Puppies
USAF 1971-76

Online Easyscor

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10688
Re: Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2021, 02:40:34 AM »
Okay, I misunderstood.
I think you have these three right:
In the Object Properties window.
Your TG must have its' own field number showing in each ships' properties.
Your BBs' ID: must be zero, same as any TG. The first ship in the group numbering from zero.
The port ownership is set in the Object Data of the BBs' properties only, same as if it were a CV.

The Zone sets the country ownership, 3 zones, 3 countries, so the BB and each ship should show the correct zone number for country.

As of late 2019, the last time I uploaded a new terrain, when a terrain is built on the server, the countries get rotated. iirc, Bish becomes Knit, Knit becomes Rook, Rook becomes Bish.

This should get you going again. I don't know why your TG was moved.

Oh, and set Can Collide and Set to Terrain Alt
You mentioned the MR but be sure to put it in the water somewhere near the edge or off map so troops can't capture it.

Lived in Garland in the early eighties, nice town back then.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2021, 02:51:24 AM by Easyscor »
Easy in-game again.
Since Tour 19 - 2001

Offline JimmyD3

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2239
Re: Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2021, 08:52:39 AM »
Thanks Easycor, I have tried to duplicate what was done for the CV's, but it just doesn't seem to work. I'll go back and double check everything again. I'll keep you posted, thanks again. :salute
Kenai77
Sic Puppies
USAF 1971-76

Offline JimmyD3

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2239
Re: Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2021, 09:46:29 AM »
Here is a screen shot of what I have.
Kenai77
Sic Puppies
USAF 1971-76

Online Easyscor

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10688
Re: Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2021, 10:47:29 AM »
Hump. I have a working BB TG on the avaetow terrain and only the field number and port are different than yours, ie I'm field 28, port 16.
I don't see anything wrong with your Object Properties. It should work as intended.
Your field 64 in the .oba file should look something like my TG field 28:
      F28MPR000,      mpr0,  -1338159.959,         0.000,   -658674.771, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      1024,   27,    9,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   0,    0,    0,    0,   -1
      F28SHP000,        bb,  -1306698.405,         0.000,   -662688.071, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   27,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   0,    0,   16,    0,   -1
      F28SHP001,        de,  -1302504.033,         0.000,   -661286.377, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   27,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   1,    0,    0,    0,   -1
      F28SHP002,        de,  -1311574.867,         0.000,   -661298.495, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   27,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   2,    0,    0,    0,   -1
      F28SHP003,        de,  -1311018.890,         0.000,   -667979.919, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   27,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   3,    0,    0,    0,   -1
      F28SHP004,        de,  -1303416.342,         0.000,   -667012.890, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   27,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   4,    0,    0,    0,   -1
      F28SHP005,        ca,  -1304898.522,         0.000,   -657258.569, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   27,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   5,    0,    0,    0,   -1


What does the built-in error checker report?
« Last Edit: February 23, 2021, 10:53:35 AM by Easyscor »
Easy in-game again.
Since Tour 19 - 2001

Offline JimmyD3

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2239
Re: Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« Reply #7 on: February 23, 2021, 03:37:32 PM »
The only thing left is the clutter mask.

Kenai77
Sic Puppies
USAF 1971-76

Offline JimmyD3

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2239
Re: Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« Reply #8 on: February 23, 2021, 03:44:14 PM »
DIsreagrd found them
« Last Edit: February 23, 2021, 04:13:25 PM by JimmyD3 »
Kenai77
Sic Puppies
USAF 1971-76

Offline JimmyD3

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2239
Re: Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2021, 04:14:29 PM »
 F64MPR000,      mpr0,    614889.259,      1594.638,    267650.275, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3072,   63,    9,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   0,    0,    2,    2,   -1
      F64SHP000,        bb,    531388.968,         0.000,    -31338.365, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   63,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   0,    0,   14,    2,   -1
      F64SHP001,        de,    529953.511,         0.000,    -33376.171, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   63,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   1,    0,    0,    2,   -1
      F64SHP002,        de,    532393.300,         0.000,    -34965.120, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   63,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   2,    0,    0,    2,   -1
      F65MPR000,      mpr0,   -558836.689,      5011.010,    399441.042, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3072,   64,    9,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   0,    0,    0,    2,   -1
      F65SHP000,        bb,   -507570.444,         0.000,     12555.638, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   64,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   0,    0,   32,    2,   -1
      F65SHP001,        de,   -506566.112,         0.000,      8928.883, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   64,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   1,    0,    0,    2,   -1
      F65SHP002,        de,   -509005.901,         0.000,     10517.832, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   64,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   2,    0,    0,    2,   -1
      F66MPR000,      mpr0,    503155.019,      4293.952,    446898.290, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3072,   65,    9,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   0,    0,    0,    2,   -1
      F66SHP000,        bb,    404683.874,         0.000,    502236.014, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   65,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   0,    0,   63,    2,   -1
      F66SHP001,        de,    403248.417,         0.000,    500198.208, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   65,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   1,    0,   63,    2,   -1
      F66SHP002,        de,    405688.206,         0.000,    498609.259, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   65,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   2,    0,   63,    2,   -1


THis is what I have in OBA File
Kenai77
Sic Puppies
USAF 1971-76

Online Easyscor

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10688
Re: Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2021, 12:31:19 PM »
You fixed these?


      F64MPR000,      mpr0,    614889.259,      1594.638,    267650.275, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,   3072,   63,    9,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   0,    0,   >2,   >2,   -1
      F64SHP000,        bb,    531388.968,         0.000,    -31338.365, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   63,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   0,    0,   14,   >2,   -1
      F64SHP001,        de,    529953.511,         0.000,    -33376.171, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   63,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   1,    0,    0,   >2,   -1
      F64SHP002,        de,    532393.300,         0.000,    -34965.120, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   63,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   2,    0,    0,   >2,   -1

      F65MPR000,      mpr0,   -558836.689,      5011.010,    399441.042, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,   3072,   64,    9,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   0,    0,    0,   >2,   -1
      F65SHP000,        bb,   -507570.444,         0.000,     12555.638, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   64,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   0,    0,   32,   >2,   -1
      F65SHP001,        de,   -506566.112,         0.000,      8928.883, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   64,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   1,    0,    0,   >2,   -1
      F65SHP002,        de,   -509005.901,         0.000,     10517.832, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   64,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   2,    0,    0,   >2,   -1

      F66MPR000,      mpr0,    503155.019,      4293.952,    446898.290, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,   3072,   65,    9,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   0,    0,    0,   >2,   -1
      F66SHP000,        bb,    404683.874,         0.000,    502236.014, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   65,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   0,    0,   63,   >2,   -1
      F66SHP001,        de,    403248.417,         0.000,    500198.208, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   65,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   1,    0,  >63,   >2,   -1
      F66SHP002,        de,    405688.206,         0.000,    498609.259, 0.0000, 0.0000, 0.0000,      3328,   65,   26,   -1.00,    -1.0,        -1,   2,    0,  >63,   >2,   -1



All three TGs (+mprs) belong to zone 3, Rook (2 in the 2nd to last column of the oba)
Use the Zone tab to correct your zones & countries. 1=Bish, 2=Knit, 3=Rook. Double click the field and type the new zone number in the dialog that comes up. This will change zone/country for all ships + mpr at that field.


Use the Search Objects by Field button and enter the field number to show all the ships & the mpr for the field in the Selection list.


TG 65, as zone 3(showing zero based 2 as in, 0,1,2 in the oba) is Rook, attached to Rook Port(?) 32(not zero based) Ok if that's as intended.


TG 64 has issues.
The map room has a 2 in the Object Data. Clear that.
Confirm TG belongs to Rook and Rook Port(?) 14


TG 66 and each of it's ships belong to Port 63. Clear the Object Data for the de's.


I question your placement of the maprooms not being on water, but other then that, let's see how far this gets us.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2021, 12:34:09 PM by Easyscor »
Easy in-game again.
Since Tour 19 - 2001

Online Easyscor

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10688
Re: Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2021, 01:54:38 PM »
Found an issue in the TE, not exactly a bug but not working as I remembered. Has a better way.

After you've gone through the earlier check, verify that the TGs belong to the proper Ports first.

Use the Search Objects by Field button and enter the field number to show all the ships & the mpr for the field in the Selection list.

Then with them listed, use the Change All button.
In the dialog that comes up, set your TG field number if needed. Set the zone-country number and click OK.

Toggle your icons and field numbers to verify it worked. Save and reload from recent terrains.

 :cheers:

Easy in-game again.
Since Tour 19 - 2001

Offline JimmyD3

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2239
Re: Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2021, 04:07:59 PM »
Still no change. I deleted all TGBB's and their map rooms, then started ALL OVER. Keep coming up with the same stumbling block. I tried your technique to set the Zone, works great but doesn't solve the problem. In the Terrain editor, a new created TGBB 64, assigned to Bish(red) port 14, comes up on the cbm as a rook(blue) BB.When I do the build, it shows on the CBM as a BishBB(green) but it will not let me go there, it has a popup that says "You can not move there." :bhead

WHen you go to generate a BB, what do  you select in the Shape groups window?? There appear to be 3 selections "bb0", "bb63", and "bship".

Is there some setting in the Editor that sets limits on the number of bases allowed? I started with an old version of ndisles, I suspect it was updated from the AH2 version.

BTW what are the column descriptors for the OBA file.

Again thanks for the help, I know you have other things you would rather do than hold my hand  :rock
« Last Edit: February 24, 2021, 04:12:56 PM by JimmyD3 »
Kenai77
Sic Puppies
USAF 1971-76

Offline JimmyD3

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2239
Re: Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2021, 05:15:30 PM »
Well I found part of the problem, you must also change the BBTG assignments in the Fields Setup screen. This corrected the proper allocation in the Editor, so the TG64 shows up properly for the Bish(red), TG65 for the Knit(green), and TG66 for the Rook(blue). However, when you do a build, all the BBTG's show up on the CBM as Bish(green) and you still can not access the BB. :bhead
Kenai77
Sic Puppies
USAF 1971-76

Online Easyscor

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 10688
Re: Adding an BB Group to an existing map
« Reply #14 on: February 24, 2021, 05:49:27 PM »
Are you uploading or offline?
When you upload to the AH server, the fields will rotate so don't do that until everything is working offline.

Are you saving after the fix and then reloading before building? The config files must all be updated, which might not happen unless you save and reload, for things to take full effect.

bbtg1 is a full task group, same as a CV but with a BB.

bship is a BB + 2 x de. Have you noticed that they don't land where you intended, and that they don't have ID numbers until you save and reload? Be sure to set the Snap checkbox for the center of a grid cell, before setting your TGs and avoid using bship. Otherwise the waypoints won't match. Instead, set a standard bbtg1 and delete the extra ships if you like. Remember both steps.

Your bb63 appears to be a custom group you've added.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2021, 05:52:22 PM by Easyscor »
Easy in-game again.
Since Tour 19 - 2001