Author Topic: Stolen King Air  (Read 1147 times)

Offline perdue3

• Aces High CM Staff
  • Platinum Member
Stolen King Air
« on: September 06, 2022, 06:06:00 PM »
I am sure most of you have read about the King Air that was stolen in Mississippi. The pilot has no license and has had "some flight instruction." I suppose it is still fairly unknown as to what extent. This reminded me of the stolen Dash 8 from a few years ago. As a licensed pilot, I find it impressive that the guy could get in, take off, fly around a bit, and land without killing himself. I am confident in my ability to do it, too, with a lot of time. But, it would take me forever to get it started as I have no turbo or multi training. I'd have to meticulously fly a checklist or fly countless hours on the sim to pull that off. Needless to say, I am sure the guy has some King Air time in a sim. Hell, even a glass cockpit is overwhelming the first time you operate one.
C.O. Kommando Nowotny 

FlyKommando.com

Offline icepac

• Platinum Member
Re: Stolen King Air
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2022, 06:52:52 PM »

He's been fueling that plane for years.

Offline perdue3

• Aces High CM Staff
  • Platinum Member
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2022, 07:42:37 PM »
He's been fueling that plane for years.

Sure. But I watch sailboats sail almost every day, doesn't mean I can hop on and move. Just find it impressive with no formal training in a King Air or multi-engine of any kind.
C.O. Kommando Nowotny 

FlyKommando.com

Offline -gg-

• Silver Member
      • IceCreamOnMars
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2022, 07:45:50 PM »
Maybe those things are just especially easy to fly.
Icecreamonmars.com. ICOM for short.

Offline perdue3

• Aces High CM Staff
  • Platinum Member
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2022, 07:51:53 PM »

Nope, they are kind of advanced  :headscratch:
C.O. Kommando Nowotny 

FlyKommando.com

Offline 100Coogn

• Gold Member
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2022, 07:56:18 PM »