Author Topic: Cannot sustain connection  (Read 362 times)

Offline DurrD

• Zinc Member
Cannot sustain connection
« on: March 24, 2023, 09:17:35 PM »
I simply cannot sustain connection to Aces High, get disconnected constantly.  I would say on average the best case scenario is I get a disco about once every 20-30 minutes, worst case its every 5-10 minutes or so. 

This has been the case for quite awhile now, it resulted in me quitting for awhile because it was so rage-inducing to lose perk vehicles that way (as the AI invariably crashes them before I can get logged back on).  I started playing again a few months ago, and its still bad, but I thought maybe it was because I use my cell phone as a hotspot to connect to the internet (we are in an extremely rural area that had no other real options until recently).  My parents who live nearby had tried Hughesnet, but it was awful, very slow, had data caps, and was expensive.  The cell phone option works great for everything else, as there is a 4G tower about 3 miles or so away, so we have always just paid for lots of data so that we get internet that way. 

Fast-forward to now, though, I have been hearing great things about Starlink, so I have been on the waiting list for it for what seems like forever (since like 2 years ago), but I heard you could get the RV version without waiting, and only slightly more expensive monthly, so I ordered that.  It just came in today, and it is even worse for connectivity so far.  I tried to play and got disconnected 5 or 6 times within 5 minutes.  The last few times it was near instantaneous.  I can watch YouTube and stuff and it seems about the same speed as the 4G phone hotspot.  I am seeing that there are obstructions on the Starlink app, which we live in a forest, so I'm not sure what I'm going to do about that, and maybe that is causing the instability?