Author Topic: Game does not work with fresh reinstall  (Read 592 times)

Offline The Fugitive

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 17692
      • Fugi's Aces Help
Re: Game does not work with fresh reinstall
« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2024, 01:03:38 PM »
People in this thread are still having issues....

https://bbs.hitechcreations.com/smf/index.php/topic,409297.0.html

and one of my squadmates is having trouble as well.

Offline Animl-AW

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
      • Animl - YouTube
Re: Game does not work with fresh reinstall
« Reply #16 on: May 24, 2024, 01:08:53 PM »
Well seeing the game has its a different IP for the downloads page, I'd bet anyone trying to download the game right now is having the same issue and it was a detail that was overlooked.

Maybe some. I DLed it.
But I also have an older copy of the same , just in case
Aces High III - Masters of the Air Scenario (video)
https://youtu.be/rQiA2yMiZf0?si=Ct5p_Vv0YXgmRxKs

Windows 11 Gaming Tweaks
https://imgur.com/oEtVMfP

Offline Animl-AW

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
      • Animl - YouTube
Re: Game does not work with fresh reinstall
« Reply #17 on: May 24, 2024, 05:56:30 PM »
I found that if I delete this file I can get the first AH screen to run, but as soon as video settings comes up it freezes. If this file exist you get a white window
C:\Users\<withheld>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WebCache\V010006F.log

This is a temp file that is renamed each time. So it won't be the same exact name I show

I'm starting to think it's the IP, and since we can't get ANY answers <shrug>

I'll give it 2 more days then I just close my account and move on. This is nonsense.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2024, 06:18:01 PM by Animl-AW »
Aces High III - Masters of the Air Scenario (video)
https://youtu.be/rQiA2yMiZf0?si=Ct5p_Vv0YXgmRxKs

Windows 11 Gaming Tweaks
https://imgur.com/oEtVMfP

Offline Lazerr

  • Platinum Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 4706
Re: Game does not work with fresh reinstall
« Reply #18 on: May 24, 2024, 06:27:09 PM »
I found that if I delete this file I can get the first AH screen to run, but as soon as video settings comes up it freezes. If this file exist you get a white window
C:\Users\<withheld>\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WebCache\V010006F.log

This is a temp file that is renamed each time. So it won't be the same exact name I show

I'm starting to think it's the IP, and since we can't get ANY answers <shrug>

I'll give it 2 more days then I just close my account and move on. This is nonsense.

2 more days over a holiday weekend?  Seems kind of unreasonable.  Hope you don't leave for that, but your mind seems made up.  Today would have been a good day to call HTC, earlier obviously.

Offline Animl-AW

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
      • Animl - YouTube
Re: Game does not work with fresh reinstall
« Reply #19 on: May 24, 2024, 06:40:25 PM »
2 more days over a holiday weekend?  Seems kind of unreasonable.  Hope you don't leave for that, but your mind seems made up.  Today would have been a good day to call HTC, earlier obviously.

It's been 8 days since new IP. These posts have been up for 2 days. Email sent 2 days ago. ZERO. I have not made up my mind, but not being able to play nor finish videos is the same as leaving. The only difference WE are paying to not being able to play. What's the difference? People can only take so much.

But ya I get your point.
I guess someone call him, I'm way too pissed off for that.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2024, 06:51:00 PM by Animl-AW »
Aces High III - Masters of the Air Scenario (video)
https://youtu.be/rQiA2yMiZf0?si=Ct5p_Vv0YXgmRxKs

Windows 11 Gaming Tweaks
https://imgur.com/oEtVMfP

Offline Animl-AW

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
      • Animl - YouTube
Re: Game does not work with fresh reinstall
« Reply #20 on: May 24, 2024, 06:44:27 PM »
My gut feeling is it's checking for updates, since it's built to update itself. IP would certain pork that. He may have to make a new FE, I assume the IP is hard coded in. Just guessing
Aces High III - Masters of the Air Scenario (video)
https://youtu.be/rQiA2yMiZf0?si=Ct5p_Vv0YXgmRxKs

Windows 11 Gaming Tweaks
https://imgur.com/oEtVMfP

Offline Animl-AW

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
      • Animl - YouTube
Re: Game does not work with fresh reinstall
« Reply #21 on: May 24, 2024, 06:48:02 PM »
From what I understand, the issues 2play has been having was due to an old Router, unable to see the new IP. New Router got that taken care of, now he has some other issues.  :headscratch:

Problem is, my game was playing fine after the new IP,...until I did a reinstall after the IP
Aces High III - Masters of the Air Scenario (video)
https://youtu.be/rQiA2yMiZf0?si=Ct5p_Vv0YXgmRxKs

Windows 11 Gaming Tweaks
https://imgur.com/oEtVMfP

Offline Vulcan

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 9852
Re: Game does not work with fresh reinstall
« Reply #22 on: May 24, 2024, 09:59:23 PM »
I assume the IP is hard coded in. Just guessing

I don't think so, servers have names like gs5.hitechcreations.com


Offline Animl-AW

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
      • Animl - YouTube
Re: Game does not work with fresh reinstall
« Reply #23 on: May 25, 2024, 07:09:45 AM »
FIXED by BigR

https://1drv.ms/f/s!AltRky2wvf_ygdNggCHMvPByndQ3F

go to this link and download the file. Place it in the Aces High III directory with the .exe files.

After some experimentation, i narrowed it down to the stdshape.res file which is generated after install. So it will not be in a fresh copy of the game. Something is going wrong with that for new installs. It probably is IP related. Some process within the game is calling to an old address when its generating that file. Just my guess.  I could be totally wrong.

Hopefully that file works. Its a 2gb download from my working game directory.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2024, 07:16:59 AM by Animl-AW »
Aces High III - Masters of the Air Scenario (video)
https://youtu.be/rQiA2yMiZf0?si=Ct5p_Vv0YXgmRxKs

Windows 11 Gaming Tweaks
https://imgur.com/oEtVMfP

Offline The Fugitive

  • Plutonium Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 17692
      • Fugi's Aces Help
Re: Game does not work with fresh reinstall
« Reply #24 on: May 25, 2024, 07:14:07 AM »
FIXED by BigR

https://1drv.ms/f/s!AltRky2wvf_ygdNggCHMvPByndQ3F w

go to this link and download the file. Place it in the Aces High III directory with the .exe files.

After some experimentation, i narrowed it down to the stdshape.res file which is generated after install. So it will not be in a fresh copy of the game. Something is going wrong with that for new installs. It probably is IP related. Some process within the game is calling to an old address when its generating that file. Just my guess.  I could be totally wrong.

Hopefully that file works. Its a 2gb download from my working game directory.

I get a page cant be found error.

So you saying that the stdshape.res" file needs to be added to the main folder of the game and it will boot up correctly?

Offline Animl-AW

  • Gold Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
      • Animl - YouTube
Re: Game does not work with fresh reinstall
« Reply #25 on: May 25, 2024, 07:15:32 AM »
I get a page cant be found error.

So you saying that the stdshape.res" file needs to be added to the main folder of the game and it will boot up correctly?

YES

I just DLed it, inserted and popped right up

Go to my thread, follow this link

https://bbs.hitechcreations.com/smf/index.php/topic,409341.msg5425035.html#msg5425035

WE SHALL NOT BE DEFEATED
« Last Edit: May 25, 2024, 07:23:42 AM by Animl-AW »
Aces High III - Masters of the Air Scenario (video)
https://youtu.be/rQiA2yMiZf0?si=Ct5p_Vv0YXgmRxKs

Windows 11 Gaming Tweaks
https://imgur.com/oEtVMfP