Author Topic: Alternate method of perking rides  (Read 208 times)

Offline Yippee38

• Copper Member
      • http://www.cutthroats.com
Alternate method of perking rides
« on: June 06, 2002, 04:18:52 PM »
The PERK POINT AUCTION thread gave me an idea.  I'm fairly new to this thread so somebody may have already posted something similar.  Pardon me if that's the case.

With the addition of some early war A/C, there will probably be very little use of these A/C in the MA.  I'm sure some of the hotshots will fly them just to show their prowess, but I'm guessing their use will be pretty rare.

Make all of the new, very early war A/C 0 perk points to fly.  Make every other plane have a perk point cost.  Instead of perking them based upon their lethality, perk them based upon their date of introduction to combat historically.  Something like the Spit V would be relatively cheap (20 perks) while something like the Ta-152 would cost a lot (maybe even more than 200).  Of course, at the end of a tour, all perks would be reset.

This would be cool because the first week of the tour, you'd see a ton of use of these early planes because not a lot of people would have the points.  You'd also see their use throughout the tour as people would spend the big points to fly their late war plane and end up with less than needed to fly their hog, stang, or whatever.  By resetting at the end, it would also incent players to use up those points and fly the big cost planes.  This would hopefully result in the last week seeing a lot of use of the late war planes.

Whaddya think?

Offline Furious

• Gold Member
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2002, 04:49:00 PM »

Offline BenDover

• Platinum Member
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2002, 05:01:12 PM »
i'm sure i've read this exact same thread

Offline Fatty

• Gold Member
      • http://www.fatdrunkbastards.com
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2002, 08:09:06 PM »
If people payed more attention to how perks work, you'd see more early war under the present setup.