Author Topic: Fighting that D*mn N1k...  (Read 704 times)

Offline SpinDoc1

• Nickel Member
Fighting that D*mn N1k...
« on: July 28, 2002, 06:16:04 PM »
I have been playing now for about 2 years and have not been able to figure out the mystery that is the N1k. For starters I hate the thing, I will not fly it unless to try and figure out why it's so good. I have tried a lot of different barrel rolls, overshoots, and turns and can't beat it. I was amazed today when I met one in a head on merge (my airspeed was 250 he was climbing, I went past him and up and he reversed only to be right on my tail spraying and praying till he got me. Can someone please explain some simple defeat tactics for this crazy plane. Thanks in advance.

Jason
AKSpnDoc
Spin Doc's Aces High VR Video channel! https://youtu.be/BKk7_OOHkgI

Offline SlapShot

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2002, 08:08:52 PM »
What were you flying ?
SlapShot - Blue Knights

Guppy: "The only risk we take is the fight, and since no one really dies, the reward is the fight."

Offline bozon

• Platinum Member
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2002, 09:08:07 PM »
you want the secret to the N1K (or the spit V)?

try this offline or in the TA:
take off, full power no wep. now try to hold the nose as high as you can without stalling while the stall-buzzer is buzzing. I mean steady climb, not zooming.
now, look to the sides and back. you have turned into a helicopter, climbing 3000fpm at 80mph hanging on the prop.

the nik can do this with any loadout, including with the DT (first time i tried this i didn't even notice i had one). you can maintain a steady climb quite easily with the nose pointing so high you'll see nothing but sky.

now try with another plane, even good climbers like p-38, 109 . you just can't keep it that high and that steady.

this is their secret. they dont zoom - they levitate :)
to rope them you must make them pull the nose right up to 90 deg or they'll just hover there waiting for you.

Bozon