Author Topic: Does anybody use manual trim?  (Read 577 times)

Offline 28sweep

• Parolee
  • Copper Member
Does anybody use manual trim?
« on: September 23, 2002, 10:26:24 AM »
Since playing IL2 a bit I have noticed that trim is a major component of flying that I have been missing in AH because of Combat Trim.  Anybody Manually trim and what are the advantages?

Offline SKurj

• Gold Member
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2002, 11:33:46 AM »
Quite a few guys say they do...

personally I can't be bothered.  I will only use manual trim if i get caught overspeed in a dive, or when flyin the 262.

As far as advantages go... well the Combat Trim is not perfect, at high speeds and low speeds its no help at all.  Watch you trim indicators next time you are vertical and going slooooo

I really think manual trim offers no advantages as far as combat goes.
If you've read the boards for IL2 you may have also noted that the implementation over there isn't quite right.... I have no experience, but to me trim in IL2 seems waay too powerful..  guys will use trim for lining up shots ... how accurate is that? +)

SKurj

Offline Ripsnort

• Radioactive Member
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2002, 11:36:28 AM »
Depends which airframe.

I use it alot in the 109 series, very little in turn and burn planes like the Spit.

Offline Soulyss

• Platinum Member
      • Aces High Events
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2002, 11:51:30 AM »
I don't use combat trim at all, just the auto pilot settings and then manual trim.  I know I do use manual trim in a fight, how much I honestly don't know because a lot of it seems automatic (from my end) I'm usually so focused on what I'm going to do that I don't notice or remember the exact control inputs.
80th FS "Headhunters"
I blame mir.

Offline GRDuckett

• Zinc Member
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2002, 04:55:45 PM »
I realized how important manual trim is when I got into 109s.  Due to the severe compression they suffer from.   I now manualy trim all aircraft.