Author Topic: A few thoughts on tracers  (Read 1193 times)

Offline hogenbor

• Nickel Member
      • http://www.lookupinwonder.nl
A few thoughts on tracers
« on: July 28, 2003, 03:54:58 AM »
After reading some write-ups on the subject I tried to fly with tracers turned off.

I have about 10 months of experience in AH now but I think a lot of people I see on-line fly more in a month than I do in a year… Nevertheless I'm not a newbie anymore and am still getting better. I also seek ways of improving myself, like flying fighters I can't really seem to get to grips with and of course switching off tracers.

After a weekend without tracers I don't really see any difference in succes rate yet. What I noticed though that although I tend to 'miss' the visual help tracers provide, I compensate by getting a bit closer and aim better. What's the most surprising thing to me is that I simply do not use the gunsight. A potential target is always maneuvering and so is your own aircraft. There seems to be some internal algorithm at work that tries to compensate and compute lead. Therefore looking at the target instead of the gunsight seems to work better for me.

Still, when spraying a bit during high deflection shots I still miss tracers (and that P-38 I only got smoking yesterday and killed me instead ). I know that in real life tracers have different ballistics than ordinary rounds. Is this modelled in Aces High?

Offline Ack-Ack

• Radioactive Member
      • FlameWarriors
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2003, 06:05:44 AM »
Fly with tracers off for about a week and you should get used to it.

One of the main problems with having tracers on is that one might become dependent on using the tracers to correct your lead.  So in essence you start to lead with your tracers instead of your gun sight.  From your post, that sounds like what's been happening to you already with tracers on.