Author Topic: My new computer purchased from Tildeath  (Read 1751 times)

Offline zes

• Zinc Member
My new computer purchased from Tildeath
« on: April 24, 2009, 01:38:21 PM »
Hi All,

I'd like to share with the gallery my experience with a new computer system purchased from Tildeath.

I purchased the system about 2 months ago and wanted to do a few things and live with it before writing any kind a review. 

I have been using PC's and Mac's for over 20 years for all kinds of things.  My main uses over that time have been professional audio applications.  Most of my computing has been on PC's and have worked for Sonic Foundry (now Sony) in tech support and sound development roles.  I have built most of my PC's in the past but, owing to a the Mac-centrism of my current place of employ, spent the last few years with a Mac running boot-camp (to play Aces High and other Windows apps).  Since I had lost track of the current Windows hardware world, I decided to seek out a pre-build from someone knowledgeable.  Knowing that PC's built as gaming machines would likely guarantee a certain level of performance that would be good for audio production also, I gave Tildeath a call.

Upon speaking with Tildeath my first impression was 'Wow, this guy is actually listening to and taking my various computing needs into consideration”.  I explained my current situation (using a Mac and running Windows) wanting the reverse (a PC that I would try to install 'the other OS' on it for work compatibility).  But more so,  I wanted a Windows machine that simply rocked for AH, Vegas, Sound Forge, and Protools. 

After discussing my needs and doing his own research into these areas, Tildeath proposed the following.... 
Q9550 core2 quad – overclocked to 3.7 Ghz
Nvidia 9800GTX+ video card
4 gig ram
additional firewire card (for audio drives and interface – need independent busses).
ATA drive
Windows Vista home premium 30 demo (as I was uncertain as to XP or Vista)