Author Topic: Fly what you wanna fly  (Read 4012 times)

Offline J_A_B

• Gold Member
Fly what you wanna fly
« Reply #45 on: December 15, 2001, 07:50:00 AM »
Actually, the cleaner airframe, different propeller, and modified exhaust stacks might be enough to make such a big improvement.

Look how the P-51 was 30 MPH faster than the Spit 9 with the same engine, and it weighed a couple tons more.

J_A_B

Offline Hooligan

• Silver Member
Fly what you wanna fly
« Reply #46 on: December 15, 2001, 09:09:00 AM »
Zygote:

No I don't have film but really why would I make that up? Would be pointless would it not.

Well the obvious answer to your question is that you don't have anything real to support your argument with, so you just lied.

Hooligan

Offline Kieran

• Platinum Member
Fly what you wanna fly
« Reply #47 on: December 15, 2001, 09:24:00 AM »
I don't know what types of individual exhaust the La-7 used, and I am by no means an expert, but individual ejector exhaust would slightly augment thrust. It still would not equate to increased horsepower. The effect would be to make the engine more efficient in its use of output.

Offline Troll

• Zinc Member
Fly what you wanna fly
« Reply #48 on: December 15, 2001, 10:28:00 AM »
Originally posted by Pyemia:
So what your saying is that, even with increased airflow into the engine and increased exhaust flow out of the engine, it did'nt produce anymore hp then the original engine?  Now i'm not a mechanic but I find that hard to believe, and given the source its more than like incorrect.  You would wonder why they even bothered?

Zygote