Author Topic: Open Letter as sent to Hitech (from me, a Bishop)  (Read 4362 times)

Offline KurtVW

• Copper Member
Open Letter as sent to Hitech (from me, a Bishop)
« on: September 07, 2004, 11:50:55 PM »
While what your asking for would be extreamly difficult to implement. One thing I had been thinking about over the week end is changing the hardness of all targets with the balance ratio.
And adjusting Ack lethality based on numbers.

HiTEch

You have a game which is balanced by the relative skills of the players.  You do not have a game which is hobbled my artifical 'skill levels' or anything of that nature.  You have created a pure skill online game.  As far as I know, you are the ONLY ONE.

If you continue to tinker to appease the minority you are going to destroy your game.  I am a programmer myself.  Not games I admit.  But one thing a programmer must learn is when to stop messing with the product.  Your's works fine.  You will never code it to the satisfaction of everyone and the minority will forever be the loudest voice.

If you must tinker, tinker game performance, not artificial whine reduction systems.  It turns out that some airplanes REALLY were better...  Some Pilots REALLY were better, and one side was always outnumbered.   That is the hard reality.  Whiners really need to get over it,,, Whiners are the minority.

Please, average the complainers against your player base... see what a small percentage they are..  Stop trying to code to the lowest common denominator.  We are in a skill based game, those without skill will never be happy.  You can't code skill for them.

If you code a game that favors the unskilled, the skilled will find a new sandbox.  And I'm sure you don't want that, you are gamers yourself.

Please step away from the keyboard.  Most of us love your product...  George Lucas thought he could make Star Wars better..  He was wrong,  Speilberg thought he could make E.T. better..He was wrong...  Don't follow that example.