Author Topic: Rolling, turning, reversing in the vertical  (Read 1019 times)

Offline LoneStarBuckeye

• Copper Member
      • http://None
Rolling, turning, reversing in the vertical
« on: September 30, 2001, 01:22:00 PM »
I am new to AH and flight sims in general.  I am trying to learn to E fight in the vertical, because I think that visualizing the fight in 3-dimensions is interesting.  As you would expect, I routinely get smacked in the main arena, getting only about one kill for every five times I get shot down.

Part of the problem is that my SA is generally poor (I am working on using the fixed views rather than padlock), but another problem is that I have not mastered efficient performance of the various vertical maneuvers.

I read with great interest Lephturn's post in another thread about rolling in the vertical in order to use the vertical dimension to "out-turn" a better-turning fighter.  I have been able to exploit that concept several times to good effect, but the problem I generally have is transitioning from a nearly vertical nose-up profile to a nearly vertical nose-down profile.  

If I find myself closing with a bogey at a high angle off but with an E advantage, I usually try one of two things, depending on how bad the angle-off/aspect situation is.  If it is not too bad, I will probably try some sort of high yo-yo derivative.  If it is more severe, I will try to go vertical, get the nose pointing down, and, once heading down, roll to the bogey's vector.  Typically, I am in a plane that cannot turn with the bogey in the horizontal (e.g., me in an F4U or 109g10 vs. a Japanese fighter or a Spit).