Author Topic: ki84 speed????  (Read 15958 times)

Offline FDutchmn

• Silver Member
ki84 speed????
« Reply #90 on: November 01, 2004, 08:17:57 PM »
Originally posted by Pyro
Top speed is 388, except for the fact that it's not making full power right now.  

The WEP issue is a confusing one.  Busa has been doing a lot of research for me over in Japan on the N1K and also the Ki-84.  It's not very clear-cut as the engine had various restrictions placed upon it at various times and the IJA and IJN did not treat the engines the same.  His research leaned toward the Ki-84 not making use of WEP while the N1K did, but again, it is not a clear-cut situation and is the source of much debate.

Pyro, I did the translation for Busa01... I am not a mechanic and didn't quite understand the physics/engineering behind it... You are right that there were certain restrictions placed on the operations of the engine, but I am not sure if that meant no WEP.  I will go over it again with him.  Perhaps I didn't do the translation right... come to think of it... I haven't answered his last email yet!  Sorry, been busy with RL.

Offline Karnak

• Radioactive Member
ki84 speed????
« Reply #91 on: November 01, 2004, 09:11:00 PM »
Well, I tried it online.

It is slow and seems to suffer from heavy controls at speed worse than the A6M does.  It cannot be used to dive on any enemy at all as you have no control after a moderate dive.  After a short dive there is no fighter in AH they will not easily escape it's guns.

I was never actually able to get into gun range of anything in the MA.  They all simply outran me.

Testing the guns offline against the drones they felt very good.  I like the guns.

The visibility from the cockpit was excelent.  Not quite as good as the P-51D or Fw190 series, but not to far behind.

In a 1941 environment it would be a good fighter.  In the 1945 MA it is sheer frusteration and utter crap I'm afraid.