Author Topic: The Best Laid Plans of Mice and Men.  (Read 249 times)

Offline Shuckins

• Gold Member
The Best Laid Plans of Mice and Men.
« on: February 02, 2005, 06:02:13 PM »
Well, I had this plan, see.  THE PLAN.  

For two years I'd been kinda flying in the MA with a slap-dash approach to improving my flying and scoring.

Oh, I had read up on fighter acm on several web-sites, and watched levi's films religiously.  Lately much of my time online had been devoted to improving SA and perfecting the rolling reversal.

Attempting to perfect it, anyway.

The fruits of these efforts had been modest.  So I decided to have a bull session/committee meeting with myself and try to determine what specifically was the problem.

After an acrimonious debate, during which I was almost forced to eject myself from the meeting, the committee concluded that a more scientific approach to the problem was needed.

Hell, I was a college graduate for Pete's sake!  I was the proud holder of both the bull-shat and monkey shat degrees earned from some Arkansas' most prestigious ivy-league universities.  Time to put all that knowledge to work.  Yup, I could do this.

So after much study of Tour 60's stats, THE PLAN was developed, which contained the following points:

1.  Kill/death ratio of 1.94 suggested that I still took too many chances in combat.  Time to fly smarter.

2.  Kills/sorties ratio of 0.975 suggested that I wasn't aggressive enough when the situation called for it.  Again, time to fly smarter.

3.  Kills/hour ratio of 3.67....well, ditto the conclusions for point number 2.

4.  Hit percentage...actually not bad at 10.471...but could also probably stand some improvement.

5.  Perfect the rolling reversal and other maneuvers to insure that I...

6.  Survive the sortie to land the kills.

So, THE PLAN called for me to fly smarter, more aggressive,  and survive my sorties.

First night of Tour 61;  time to put THE Plan to the test.