Author Topic: How to fly the P-38?  (Read 475 times)

bahlooo

How to fly the P-38?
« on: March 16, 2001, 05:32:00 PM »
Alright,

I'm new at this whole game. I already finished my 2 week trial, but this is a great game, and I intend to subscribe. The thing is, I usually found myself clueless as to what to do in a fight.

I like the P38, and flew it pretty much all the time, but without much success. I could rarely win a turn fight, and didn't have much like in BnZ either. When I tried to run, there was no shortage of planes that could catch me, and when I stayed, most buggers could outturn me.

Now I know it's not the best plane in the arena by a longshot, but what are the advantages and disadvantages of the P-38? I found that it's a good accelerator, and handles nicely at 300+ MPH, but is a sitting duck at low speeds. For BnZ, it seems a little on the slow side, but I imagine can be put to that use well if choosing the right targets? It isn't much of a runner either I don't think, and loves to compress, but that seems avoidable if I'm careful enough.

And the spins are more difficult to recover from than other planes I think.

Any P-38 pilots out there that could give me a few pointers? It'd seem that this would be a rather good plane since AH doesn't really have the problems with engine failures, freezing cockpits, and difficult ejection that plagued the real plane...

Offline flakbait

• Silver Member
      • http://www.worldaccessnet.com/~delta6
How to fly the P-38?
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2001, 05:55:00 PM »
As a note, bailing out of a P-38 was easier than trying the same thing in a conventional fighter. Why? No tailplane to break body parts on.