Author Topic: Novice RC plane thread  (Read 585 times)

Offline Maverick

• Plutonium Member
Novice RC plane thread
« on: June 21, 2005, 10:50:32 AM »
Rather than hijack Hangtimes thread about his new plane I figured I'd start a new one for Q&A about this situation.

As I stated in Hang's thread I'm a total novice to this. I've got one flight of a RC powered glider under my belt and thatr was over 2 decades ago. I was interested in the new electric RC planes as that would fit in with my RV lifestyle which means very limited room to build (actually none to speak of), limited places to fly and limited funds.

I followed up on the term "Park Flyer" and saw some really neat planes there on several hobby store web sites. One brand in particular got my attention as it has small RTF's that have everything needed to fly right in the box. They use a 3 channel radio (throt, rudder,elevator) and the plane is already built other than minor assmbly of the major components. I saw a couple videos showing them in action and it looked like a decent way to go.

Thoughts on this concept please?

I am assuming that if I get one of these planes and the inevitable crunch comes I can use the same internal components on another plane, but just buy the plane part instead of the entire $150.00 box with radio. Izzat possible?

Should I forget about the little "box" job listed above and get seperate components like a seperate radio / servo assy. a seperate plane kit (ARF) and go that way? Right now I don't see a lot of possiblities of getting together with other rc folks for assistance so I'll be on my own.

Thoughts and advice appreciated gents.
DEFINITION OF A VETERAN
A Veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard or reserve - is someone who, at one point in their life, wrote a check made payable to "The United States of America", for an amount of "up to and including my life."
Author Unknown

Offline Chairboy

• Probation
  • Plutonium Member
      • hallert.net