Author Topic: What are primary and secondary weapons?  (Read 711 times)

Offline Fry

• Zinc Member
What are primary and secondary weapons?
« on: September 05, 2005, 05:21:36 PM »
I know, dweeb question, but I'm new to AH and am wondering about this.  If I'm flying a Spit and have machine guns AND cannons, are machine guns primary and cannons secondary?  What about a F6?  Will primary fire ALL 6 machine guns and if I choose BOTH, will it fire all guns and drop a bomb?  Is the order  something like this:

machine guns
cannons
bombs

Meaning if I don't have cannons, would a bomb release would be my secondary weapon?

If so, this could be confusing for setting up my firing buttons whereas I'd rather not have a BOTH button (for a/c that have machine guns and cannons) and while flying an all machine gun a/c and see myself firing all my guns AND dropping my bomb, hehe. Maybe 2 profiles would be required...

Thanks!

Offline OOZ662

• Platinum Member
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2005, 06:05:18 PM »
Cannons, rockets, bombs, and drop tanks are almost always the seconary weapon. On planes that don't have cannons, the MGs are split into two "weapons." If you're flying something like a Niki or HurriIIC that has all cannons, half are Primary and half are Secondary.

EDIT: Hey, check it out, all three lines start with "cannons" :rofl
A Rook who first flew 09/26/03 at the age of 13, has been a GL in 10+ Scenarios, and was two-time Points and First Annual 68KO Cup winner of the AH Extreme Air Racing League.

Offline Fry

• Zinc Member
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2005, 06:48:22 PM »
Cannons LOL!  
Cannons I see.  So individual mapping profiles are needed depending on the weapon arrangement.  Is there a Cannons website that shows which weapons are primary and secondary on specific a/c?

Cannons Thanks!

Cannons Holy sheit!  Look...all of mine also start with Cannons

Offline RTR

• Gold Member
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2005, 07:04:15 PM »