Author Topic: free Dmitry!!!!!!  (Read 3397 times)

Offline Yoj

• Copper Member
free Dmitry!!!!!!
« Reply #60 on: July 25, 2001, 02:40:00 PM »
I'm no lawyer, so this stuff might not say quite what it says, but it seems to me in looking at what Fatty posted, that the key is the exact wording of Section 106, since Section 501 points to it as defining infringement, and what Neshwan posted overrides Section 106.  

There could be a clear violation based on Section 1201, but only if it can be shown that Dmitry's software was PRIMARILY intended to be used to infringe (as defined in Sections 106-112).  Determining that is just the kind of thing that keeps Attorney's in Armani suits.

- Yoj

Offline Nashwan

• Silver Member
free Dmitry!!!!!!
« Reply #61 on: July 25, 2001, 03:38:00 PM »
What Yoj said

Sec. 501. Infringement of copyright
(a) Anyone who violates any of the exclusive rights of the copyright owner as provided by sections 106 through 121 or of the author as provided in section 106A(a), or who imports copies or phonorecords into the United States in violation of section 602, is an infringer of the copyright or right of the author, as the case may be. For purposes of this chapter (other than section 506), any reference to copyright shall be deemed to include the rights conferred by section 106A(a). As used in this subsection, the term ''anyone'' includes any State, any instrumentality of a State, and any officer or employee of a State or instrumentality of a State acting in his or her official capacity. Any State, and any such instrumentality, officer, or employee, shall be subject to the provisions of this title in the same manner and to the same extent as any nongovernmental entity.