Author Topic: FE & collisions etc.  (Read 3504 times)

Offline Brenjen

• Silver Member
FE & collisions etc.
« on: May 01, 2006, 11:40:57 PM »
I am not a computer programmer. I am not a complete idiot either. I know how to use & have used the search function.

That being said hold the "use the search function" snot-nosed comments.

I have read where HT has stated the "plane towing a target drone" X 2 is how the programming works. I think I understand that the FE or front end is the respective users own PC ( my FE is my own PC ) I have also read the article written about net lag for the warbirds set from here:

http://www.rdrop.com/users/hoofj/netlag.htm

But just when I think I understand how it works I seem to get confused again. Now, I am not complaining....I rarely have collisions, I am just trying to learn the facts & be sure I know whats going on.

If, for instance, I am turning for an angle & I end up in a HO with another plane & I see the message: "You have collided with X-pilot" That means that on my FE (my PC) it calculated from the positional information it has available that both aircraft occupied the same place at the same time right?

So how does it determine I hit X-pilot instead of the other way around?

Is it a split second communication between my FE & his FE via the HTC server that he was moving out of the way when we hit?

Or is it a split second communication between the FE on my end & the one on his end via the HTC server that says my view showed me hitting him & his view showed him missing me so I was the collider & he was the collidee?

I guess it's the lag & the fact that there aren't really two planes (or four as it were) flying in cyberspace hitting each other that's throwing me. I can't get my mind around how I see a collision (or X-pilot sees it) & the other guys sees a 100 yard close miss. Not being a 1's & 0's binary code sort of guy my brain tends to interpret images of this situation as "if I hit him...then he had to have hit me too"