Author Topic: FE & collisions etc.  (Read 3513 times)

Offline Docc

• Copper Member
FE & collisions etc.
« Reply #60 on: May 04, 2006, 10:59:52 AM »
I'm not one of those know-it-all punks who think it's funny to interject their insulting or destructive comments in every thread I see.  

I understand what they are saying about how collisions 'supposedly' work.

I am a mechanical engineer who is used to thinking logically.  If I am the blue plane and I film it it shows a clean miss and my tail falls off about 1 second later when I get the message that XXXX has collided with me.  I live 600 ms ping time west of Dallas.  What I would like considered and explained by all you 'experts' is a collision on my blue plane by a guy who lives 300 ms east of Dallas.

Next time I have a film I will gladly send it to HT for review.   There are many others in the MA who have the same problem with collisions, especially when in the drawing above the current damage model wipes out the tail surfaces of the collidee causing death and the collider loses an engine at most.

Offline Brenjen

• Silver Member
FE & collisions etc.
« Reply #61 on: May 04, 2006, 11:18:20 AM »
I really didn't start this thread for it to turn into an arguement between anyone. Only to clarify a few questions/points I wasn't clear on. I have this crazy problem where if I don't understand something I ask questions & research it until I do.

Offline hubsonfire

• Plutonium Member
FE & collisions etc.
« Reply #62 on: May 04, 2006, 11:36:17 AM »
Docc, it's quite simple. If it looks like you hit him on your FE, you did. If it looks like he hit you on his FE, he did. If you take damage, and receive a "XXX collided with you" message, but not a "you have collided message", you were shot, and collided with.

Lag has nothing to do with it. But hey, you know all this. HT himself has told you all of this, and yet you still maintain that only your perception of how things work is correct.