Author Topic: Use of ".target"  (Read 465 times)

Offline HomeBoy

• Nickel Member
      • HomeBoy's Inventions
Use of ".target"
« on: January 18, 2007, 09:19:00 AM »
I have these ongoing arguments ("friendly discussions") with my squadmates over convergence.  Most of the time I fly the D pony so I'll use it in my example here.

I think a lot of people don't realize (I didn't for the longest time) that convergence is a two dimensional setting.  Not only are you towing (converging) your wing guns in more when you reduce your convergence setting from say 650 to 300 but you are also dropping the angle of the gun barrels so that you get less trajectory at 300 than at 650.

My squadmates, who are much more expert with the 51D than I am, say that 300 is the optimal convergence so I have been using that for several months now.  A lot of guys use really short convergence settings 250, 200, etc.  because they embrace the "get in close and then get closer" philosophy.  Very valid.  For whatever reason, I never have felt comfortable with that.  I used to use 450 with the pony but with more recent versions of AH2, this does not seem to work as well as it used to so I am now a believer in 300.  One thing that is for sure though is you have to lead a lot more with 300 than with 450 to get hits because the trajectory is a good bit less.  I almost wish there was a seperate trajectory setting in addition to convergence but I guess things are complicated enough.  I would like to increase my trajectory a little more at 300 convergence so my guns would do more of the "leading."