Author Topic: Dive Bombing Practice: How-To?  (Read 819 times)

Offline what'shisname?

• Zinc Member
Dive Bombing Practice: How-To?
« on: September 17, 2007, 10:12:13 AM »
I'm pretty good at dive bombing straight down from 12,000 feet with F6F and I hit my target, finish it off with rockets.

I'm not good at it with other planes.  

F6F I never practiced in the training area.  I just did it in live fire until I got good at it.  I think it is Mathman's article about it I read.

Does TA have aiming crosshair helps to use with dive bombing?  If so, how do I call up this feature.   Studka, F4U-1A, and A-20 is what I am interested in currently.

"BaldEagle" is aces with the Studka.

Thanx

Offline Saxman

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2007, 11:15:30 AM »
As far as the F4U-1A, (and all the bubble-top Corsairs, for that matter) you generally want your target between the top of the cowl and the bottom of the gun sight. Exactly where depends on your speed, dive angle, and altitude of release.

Of course, if HTC would ever double the size of the F4U's sight, you could use the Mk.8 sight, which had 5mil hash lines below the outer ring just for that purpose...
Ron White says you can't fix stupid. I beg to differ. Stupid will usually sort itself out, it's just a matter of making sure you're not close enough to become collateral damage.

Offline what'shisname?

• Zinc Member
Dumb Question; Great Answer
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2007, 11:26:55 AM »
Thanks for the F4U response.

I went to training area yesterday and did not see the crosshair.  Just came back fron TA.  Guess I wasn't high enough to see the automatic crosshairs.

Stupid question does not need further replies, but thanx big time for the advice.

Offline Scca

• Gold Member
Re: Dive Bombing Practice: How-To?
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2007, 11:27:54 AM »
Originally posted by what'shisname?