Author Topic: La5-FN Winter Camo...Sneak Peek  (Read 516 times)

Offline Strip

• Gold Member
La5-FN Winter Camo...Sneak Peek
« on: April 03, 2008, 11:15:46 AM »
Couple of screen shots of a new project...

The elevator lines are too dark and there are more wear marks to be added but here it is...

Belly shot...

Top view

Just thought I would get some opinions on color. I am happy with the blue but the white is driving me nuts. I have tried many shades and havent found any that really appeal to me or what I see in photos/profiles.

Strip(er)

Offline Xasthur

• Gold Member
Re: La5-FN Winter Camo...Sneak Peek
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2008, 11:43:07 AM »
The white will look better once you've dirtied up a bit.

Was the Ruski winter camo a water-soluable white-wash paint like the German's?

If anything, that blue looks pretty......vibrant... to me, the white looks fine for a start.

I'm no expert on Russian aircraft though, so don't take my criticism too seriously.

Raw Prawns
Australia

"Beaufighter Operator Support Services"

Offline Strip

• Gold Member
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2008, 11:54:38 AM »
I dont take my own knowledge very seriously!  :rofl

I havent found much about the paint type they used. They only thing I have to go on are a few photos and profiles. It makes sense to use water based paints if they swapped camo twice a year. Being able to wash away paint instead of adding layers or stripping the old paint off. I have to wonder how it would stand up to winter conditions tho. Hot parts and snow would produce water that could potentially wash away the paint.

Strip

Offline Motherland

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2008, 12:56:34 PM »
You can definately tell when they use wash, if you have any actual photos. I have a picture of a 190 'new' on the front, and the whitewash on the cowlings is VERY weathered. I'll upload a picture of it when I get home. I may have some pictures of some Russian birds in winter camo too, Ill have to check.